Whole Grain Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I tweaked the recipe a bit, switched the Whole Wheat-Flour with All Purpose Unbleached White, used Oat Bran instead of Wheat Germ, then made them non dairy by using Oat Milk. It was my first time making my own Waffles at home and the first time hubby has had them,he Loved them! and so did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Absolutely terrific. I make a quadruple batch and freeze the cooked waffles on a cooling rack before placing them into a large freezer bag. Just pop them into the toaster oven in the morning for a quick breakfast treat. my kids Love these with pure maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I separated the eggs and beat the egg whites till fluffy, stiff peaks formed. I also used buttermilk instead of low fat milk. They turned out light and fluffy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Amazing! I tried to make my own whole grain waffles, but they tasted horrible. I could not get the right texture. These waffles are amazing and my wife loves them too. I love it when healthy tastes great! When we have kids, this will be the first waffle that they are introduced to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Super yum! Only change I made was to increase the oil on account of no applesauce to be found! Kids loved it. Mom's happy. Big win all the way around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
SO SURPRISED! I wouldn't normally think a batter with this much whole wheat flour and flax, etc. would be fluffy- usually whole wheat flour seems to make things dense and too chewy. But the reviews were so great I thought I'd try it. SO glad I did! They were surprisingly crispy, light, just awesome. Wonderful taste! I subbed oatmeal for the wheat germ and switched the measurements with flax meal (1/4 c. flax meal, 1/2 oats). They were perfect!! I'm saving this recipe to use now instead of my boxed mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
These were incredibly filling and the kids gobbled them up. The batter was thin to begin with, but after a few minutes the flax worked its' magic and the end result was perfect. It's hard to explain how they were so light and filling at the same time, but they were! I subbed whole wheat flour for pastry flour with no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
We have a restaurant style Belgian waffle maker and I was a bit hesitant to try this recipe in it. However, they turned out great! The only problem was I got only 5 waffles instead of the suggested 6. I also used whole wheat flour not the pastry blend. Ellen from Milwaukee, WI
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Delicious and healthy! I follow the recipe exactly and they always turn out wonderful. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
A Sunday morning must!! I add a 1/4 cup each of chia seeds and oat bran, use almond milk and decrease baking powder to 3 tsp. A guilt-free waffle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 622) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States