Whole Grain Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Delicious! These get really crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. I followed the recipe almost exactly. I didn't have flax seed, so I used quick cooking oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
So much better than regular waffles! My husband likes to make whole wheat pancakes which I'm not a big fan of, so when he said he wanted to make whole wheat waffles I wasn't very enthusiastic. Gave them a try and I couldn't believe how good they were. Don't let the ingredients turn you away from this recipe if you don't have all of them. Just make a point to buy the ones you don't have next time you go to the store. Moo-ey Delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Waite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
great recipe! I used some substitutes. Used no oil or flax and upped the oats to 1/2 cup, also reduced the baking soda to 1 tbs and used brown sugar instead of white sugar. I had to use spray oil on griddle to stop from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Delicious waffles. Will make them again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
These came out beautifully! I did make some changes though...as I am fond of experimenting. I used regular whole wheat flour, left out the white flour, sugar, wheat germ, and flaxseed meal (sorta-see below). Then I subbed sunflower seed oil instead of canola oil (I think I'll use extra apple sauce instead next time), I also subbed 2 tablespoons of flaxseed meal soaked for 2 minutes in 6 tablespoons of water instead of 2 eggs, I mixed in about 1/4 cup each of whole flaxseed, Bob's Red Mill rolled oats, and wheat bran. Also, next time I think I'll use unsweetened almond milk instead of skim milk. I spread my mother-in-law's pumpkin butter on my waffles instead of syrup and it was heavenly! Love this recipe even though I changed so much of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delmandi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Millington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by birdluv4ever
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This was a really good Sunday morning family waffle recipe!! They were filling and great with a little syrup! I think adding yogurt might make it a little sweeter , but over all, 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdluv4ever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very good! Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I tweaked the recipe a bit, switched the Whole Wheat-Flour with All Purpose Unbleached White, used Oat Bran instead of Wheat Germ, then made them non dairy by using Oat Milk. It was my first time making my own Waffles at home and the first time hubby has had them,he Loved them! and so did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Absolutely terrific. I make a quadruple batch and freeze the cooked waffles on a cooling rack before placing them into a large freezer bag. Just pop them into the toaster oven in the morning for a quick breakfast treat. my kids Love these with pure maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I separated the eggs and beat the egg whites till fluffy, stiff peaks formed. I also used buttermilk instead of low fat milk. They turned out light and fluffy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 619) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States