Whole Grain Spaghetti with Cherry Tomatoes, Marinated Chicken Breast and Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I agree with many reviewers about it needing something - I added more pesto and that helped (I make my own pesto with fresh basil and I think that has a stronger flavor so that might also have helped). I added pine nuts for a little crunch. I will make again as it was easy and pretty healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liz Dalton
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Great recipe! We loved the texture of the whole grain spaghetti. I don't think I will make regular spaghetti anymore! All the ingredients worked really well together. I put 2 chicken breasts in this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Dalton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Janet Henderson
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was very good with a few modifications. I made my own Pesto and I added some Tropical Sazon and some red pepper flakes to the marinade for the Chicken. I will be making this again as it was easy and very flavorful. I liked the whole grain pasta, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This was a keeper! Loved the texture of the whole grain noodles! I added about a teaspoon of cracked pepper and a half teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes to add some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Delicious.. I had some homemade pesto in the freezer so I used that instead of jarred. No fresh thyme.. so I used fresh basil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Stella Reynoso
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I had read the reviews and saw the it was kind of bland, so decided to make the "Pesto" recipe here on the Allrecipes site, thinking that the fresh-picked-from-the-garden herbs and freshly ground parmesan would make a big difference in the outcome. It was...still lacking something. The directions felt a bit clunky to me, and it was hard to keep up with it all. Next time, I would set the pot of water to boil first, then grill the chicken, then leave it to rest while I worked on the veggies, setting those aside in a large bowl until needed. Then I would cook the spaghetti, toss it into the vegetables until well-mixed, then add the pesto to coat well. I had added the pesto first, and by the time the veggies were added, the spaghetti had absorbed everything and there wasn't much left over. Maybe that would have made a difference? Also, I added more salt than I normally do, but the depth of flavor still didn't seem strong. Individually, all the components were great. But together? It just seemed disjointed. I'll have to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella Reynoso

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KZrod
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I made this tonight while on vacation in Myrtle Beach & I thought it was delish! I did change a few things. I made it for a house full so I used 4 chicken breast sliced in half to make 8. Marinated it all day (added salt) & made a fresh pesto instead of jarred which I used all of. Although, I absolutely love Barilla I'm not a huge fan of the whole grain I think I would enjoy this more over regular Barilla spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KZrod
Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shannonferger
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This was just okay. As is, I felt like it was missing something. Added more salt and extra pesto sauce to the dish and shredded parmesan cheese helped, but still rather disappointed. Love Barilla pasta, but this recipe needs a little work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonferger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Photo by Jenny Aleman
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
It was a good pasta dish. The whole family liked the pasta flavor. I was a little bit skeptical about the whole grain pasta, but Barilla brand is great and you can hardly notice the difference. The chicken was very juicy, but I would let it marinate for a little longer it needed more flavor. The sauce was good and simple but next time I will double the vegetables and pesto quantities. Too much pasta for the amount of sauce. It's healthy and easy , so I will make it again with tiny changes to the recipe. --
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Aleman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
We were also a bit disappointed with this recipe and thought it was a bit bland. It was ok but needs to be tweaked a bit to make it better. The only change I made to the recipe was to use gluten free spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Pesto

Grilled chicken strips are served with spaghetti tossed with veggies and pesto.

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Chicken

A simple mixed nut pesto pairs perfectly with nutty whole grain spaghetti.

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States