Whole Grain Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I added a 1/2 tsp. of salt and a tsp. of vanilla. I also added about a cup of fresh blueberries. I suggest letting the batter sit for a couple minutes to soak up some of the wet. Oatmeal, corn meal and wheat flour will do that if you let it rest after mixing. These turned out fluffy and tasted great. I'd make these again. I might add another 1/2 c. of oatmeal next time, the batter was just a little thin, even after letting it sit for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
These were very fluffy, and we loved the combination of grains. The cornmeal adds a fun crunch. After reading tat2wttrsh's comment about the thin batter, I put together the batter last night, and let it sit in the fridge until this morning. It was thin when I first mixed it together, but the flours and oats did soak up all the extra liquid overnight, and the batter was just right this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
The kids said these were the best pancakes, and I agree. The cornmeal adds a great crunch, and they have great flavor and sweetness, in spite of the low amount of sugar. This is definitely a keeper. I had to add more whole wheat flour (1/3-1/2 c.) to make the consistently thicker. I used old-fashioned rolled oats vs. quick. I used powdered buttermilk mixed with 1 cup water, 1 cup milk. I also added a couple teaspoons of vanilla and few dashes salt. I love that it's such a healthy recipe, so easy, and so delicious! It made 16 - 4" pancakes, enough for freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dayton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Healthy AND tasty - a winning combination. Just remember to let the batter sit for a few minutes. It will thicken and cook up beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Everyone liked these, even the kids and I feel good that they are so healthy. I added some vanilla and let them sit to thicken like reviews suggested. In the second batch, I used 1/2 milk and 1/2 water and they turned out the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Substantive, but not too heavy. Great flavor and consistency. I added a little salt, vanilla, and blueberries, as recommended. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Left out the sugar, used 1 cup light cream and 1 cup water with a dose of vinegar (buttermilk substitute), had no soy so used extra corn meal - still came out tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I give these 5 stars because they're healthy and my husband will eat them. The first time I made them I didn't have flaxseed meal and they came out liquidy and super flat even with a little extra flour, but I liked the flavor and my little 10 year old cousin said they were good. This time I found that adding flaxseed meal made it the perfect consistency for me and they were less flat. I still wouldn't call them "fluffy" (maybe I mixed them too much?), but my dad said that with wheat pancakes whipping the egg whites until they're stiff and then folding them in helps so I'll try that next time. Oh, salt and vanilla are a must, and I used lemon and milk instead of butter milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Delicious! I used 1.5 cups unsweetened almond milk and Ideal sugar substitute in place of brown sugar to further reduce the carb count. Wonderful treat for a diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I love the recipe. My girlfriend doesnt even like pancakes and loves these pancakes. Thanks Jen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States