Whole Grain Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
These were fabulous! I was very skeptical about the corn meal, but it added just a touch of sweetness and great texture. Even our pickiest kids, who only like the light n fluffy pancakes, devoured these. We did add a touch of vanilla to the mix and added more liquid to make the batter a little thinner. We used the powdered buttermilk stuff, and will hopefully have the real deal on-hand next time. Also ground the oatmeal in a mini processor, which helped hide the whole grains from the kids. Love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
These pancakes are excellent. I changed the recipe by omitting the cornmeal (my kids don't like the grittiness) and instead of whole wheat flour, I used a combination of barley flour, whole wheat pastry flour, amaranth flour, spelt flour and brown rice flour. My mix is equal portions of each of the flours. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
These pancakes are light and fluffy, very unexpexted texture for a whole grain pancake. Followed others advise and let the batter sit for a short time to let the whole grains expand and make it less runny. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
We have made these pancakes several times, often tweaking it a bit but they always turn out great. These modifications have worked well for us: adding 1/2 teaspoon of salt, reducing the buttermilk to 1 3/4 cup (using sour milk is alright, but not quite as amazing), and adding 1/4 cup oil. Replacing brown sugar with white sugar is fine. We find that adding vanilla can distract from the flavor of the grains. Even though we think this recipe is better with our modifications, it still gets 5 stars because it's a flexible recipe and a terrific food concept.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris &  Leela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I've made them 3 times in the last month for company - everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
As much as I wanted to like these, they were just awful! Batter was way too thin and too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
These had a really nice flavor. I found them a little difficult to cook, though. I had to grease my pan more than I'm used to because they tended to stick, even to my amazing, expensive, non-stick pan! They also got brown really fast and didn't set up as quickly in the middle, so I had to turn the temperature down quite a bit and cook them much longer. I made a few changes to the original recipe. I didn't have any cornmeal, so I substituted wheat germ. I also didn't have any buttermilk, so I used lemon juice and milk. I added some cinnamon and vanilla for a little extra flavor. I think next time I will leave some of the sugar out of it, because the pancake was pretty sweet. All in all this is a very nice base recipe. I think with a little more tweaking it could be close to perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
'Not sure if I can add anything to what's already been written, but I agree that this is a very good pancake--even if you don't add flaxseed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
As a parent of two very picky eaters I have been searching high and low for a HEALTHY pancake recipe. I've tried 3 other recipes with no luck. I served these for Valentines Day breakfast and held my breath. They BOTH LIKE IT! One of them ate FOUR! I doubled the recipe and added another 1/2 cup oats to the batter. I allowed it to sit for 20 minutes while I cleaned the kitchen and made a cake. It wasn't a thick batter like I was used to but it cooked up nicely. Next time I plan to add some vanilla and I want to try making it the night before and putting it in the fridge to soak overnight. We also topped it with apple butter and syrup for something different and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I usually don't write reviews but I had to on this one. With slight modifications - this was fantastic! I skipped the cornmeal and increased rolled oats to 1 cup (was a bit too thick so I might do 3/4 cup next time). I also substituted 5 tbsp of honey for br sugar (I might do 4 next time, although 5 was good too). These were fantastic. So filling and sooo good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States