Whole Grain Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is great! I love whole grains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
What an amazing recipe! They are healthful but still delicious! Half of the buttermilk that we used was evaporated and I used whole flax seeds instead of meal, but everything else was followed to the letter! My kids loved them too. We topped our with frozen blueberries and strawberries that we heated in a saucepan (without adding sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I cut this recipe in half: i used a 1/2 cup of wheat flour. 1/4 tsp of baking soda, 1/2 tsp of baking powder, about a tbsp of ground (use a coffee grinder for seeds) flax seed, a 1/4 cup of old fashion rolled oats, 1 tbsp of red wheat bran, 1 tsp olive oil, 1 egg, and enough milk to make a thin pancake batter. let batter sit for about 10 minutes. add more milk if necessary and fry pancakes on medium heat until browned on both sides. make 3 large pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I never followed the recipe exactly based on other reviews. I decreased milk, added some coconut oil, cinnamon and vanilla. I really liked the pancakes with those changes. I think with the addition of oil the texture was better than other reviewers described. I also didn't have a problem with them cooking in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly except that I doubled it (and actually got 16 pancakes--so many times I don't get how many the recipes states) and I used butter to fry the pancakes. They are delicious and the kids loved them. I really enjoy the flavor and the crunch from the corn meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I am single so I recalc this recipe for 2 and still have plenty to freeze. I use 1/4 c applesauce instead of the sugar and add wheat bran, but use the recipe as written otherwise. Feel the vanilla would take away from the cornmeal (I use old fashioned cornmeal so it is coarser). I am sorry but I don't find this recipe runny at all, maybe because I add the wheat bran. I found a recipe today on FB for Pumpkin Butter and will try that in the morning. Love this recipe, it is addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is my favorite healthy pancake recipe. I always use sour milk (1 c. milk to 1 T lemon juice) instead of buttermilk. Since I don't have flaxseed meal, I either grind up flaxseeds in a blender or I substitute wheat germ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
These were very yummy! I was looking for something healthy and the 4 year old and even the 10 month baby gobbled these up. I did add a dash of salt and used regular milk that I soured with 2 tblsp of white vinegar(let it set a few minutes). I also added a dash of vanilla. These cooked up great to my surprise even with no oil in the recipe. Made plenty to freeze for quick breakfast for school. Oh and I did throw some blueberries in half the mix and that was great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This is a good base for a healthier pancake. Due to dietary restrictions, I omitted the brown sugar altogether as well as the corn meal and added an extra 1/4 C. whole wheat flour instead. I thought the rolled oats needed to soak up some batter as it was very runny, but even with soaking half the day it was still super runny. Next time I will use 1 1/2 C. buttermilk instead. I was still able to use the batter it just made for thinner pancakes, but the taste was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
These are fantastic! My daughter is allergic to dairy, so we always replace the buttermilk with almond milk or coconut milk. They are delectable every time! We usually make homemade fruit "syrup" to go on top, with apples or strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Rice Flour Pancakes

See how to make 5-star, completely gluten-free pancakes.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States