Whole Grain Healthy Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
i don't like rating a recipe that i have altered, but it was so fantastic i just have to comment. i think the recipe would be great on it's own, but b/c of what i did and did not have I: used brown sugar instead of splenda, used 3 bananas and 1 c applesauce, added 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg, i cut back 1/4 c. flour and added 1 c oats, 1/2 c walnuts, sprinkled w/ oats. I made 4 mini loaves. it was a dark pan so I baked for 25 min. perfect. sooo yummy especially for such a healthy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Delicious healthy banana bread. I followed others recomendations by using brown sugar instead of the splenda (I don't like using artificial sweetners), 5 bananas instead of 3, 1/2c of applesauce, 1 tsp. of cinnamon, 1/2tsp nutmeg and cut 1/4c of flour and added 1c. oats. I'm always looking for healthier versions of our family favorites and this is now one of them. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
this was bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
WOW! I am not renowned for my baking ability, yet these muffins turned out BEAUTIFULLY. I even made substitutions which I am rarely brave enough to do! I used brown sugar instead of splenda (because I don't like the fake supersweet aftertaste), nonfat vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream, and substituted 1/2 c. wheat bran for 1/2 c of the ww flour. I added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg as recommended by another reviewer (thanks!) and added 1/2 c. each chopped pecans and chocolate chips. They turned out stunningly! They were quickly gobbled down. I made 18 medium-sized muffins and baked them in silicone pans, so had to keep them in 5-10 minutes longer than expected (about 30m). They came to 191 calories a piece with my changes, including 6.2 grams of fat (from the pecans, chocolate and flax mostly), 32.6 g carbs (including 17 g sugar and 5 g fibre), and 4.5 g protein per muffin... if you left out the choc chips, -35.5 calories; no pecans = -22.8 calories; splenda = -32.3 calories (per muffin). So you could get 'em down to about 100 calories each, but they wouldn't taste as good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I made a lot of changes based on what I had available, and these turned out excellent--super moist & full of flavor. Here's what I did: --substituted 1/2c. maple syrup for splenda/sugar --substituted 1/2 c. peach keifer for sour cream & milk --substituted 1/2c. hemp seeds for flaxseed (for someone who doesn't like this the crunchy hemp I would rec. walnut pieces). --substitute 2/3 c. old fashioned oats for for 2/3 of the whole wheat flour --added 1tsp. cinnamon and 1tsp. vanilla --used 1 whole egg instead of eggwhites --baked in toaster over (to avoid heating my already hot house during a souther CA summer!) in muffin tins, 30 mins each tin (might take less time in regular oven) --yield: 16 muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I have played around with this recipe and now use golden flaxseed and whole wheat pastry flour which makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I had to make a couple of adjustments, first I didn't have flaxseed so I used more flour I also used stone ground whole wheat flour. I think it came out great because of the flour I used it had an interesting texture that my husband loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I really liked this recipe, however I did alter it some because of what I had on hand and preference. I used dark brown sugar instead of splenda and vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream. Plus, I threw in a tablspoon or two or whole wheat germ. It turned out wonderfully. It will make a great quick breakfast on days when I'm short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I know that the changes I made make this more fattening but I had to share because this turned out so yummy. I used butter instead of sour cream and one whole egg. At least the flax and whole wheat organic flour I used makes me feel a bit better about cheating. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Wow! I really liked this! I used regular sugar, soy milk, the white of one egg, and half the salt, and it still turned out great. It's not a light bread, but very substantial. Nice to bite and wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geminivirgo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States