Whole Grain Healthy Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I was looking for a whole grain healthy bread to make while using bananas before they spoiled. This recipe is excellent. It is the first time I cooked with an artificial sweetener and was pleasantly surprised. I also modified the recipe to work as a healthy pumpkin bread. Both have received rave reviews from friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This bread was really better the second day. It doesn't take that long to cook so I would watch it at about 50 minutes. My top was starting to really crack & burn. I used a mix of Splenda & dark brown sugar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chelsea
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This bread was wonderful! The only change I made was to use brown sugar rather then that chemical . This bread was perfect, Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Used the changes from the review below with only one exception- I used vanilla yougert (low fat of course) instead of sour cream...this bread tastes great and is very healthy for you...especially good for helping to lower cholesterol as long as you don't soak it in butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
YUM!!! I am a caterer so I do ALOT of cooking and baking. I followed this recipe exactly....and it is by far the best banana bread I have ever had. I may add walnuts when i make it again....it is so delicious. I had a hard time convincing my son (a chef and exercise nut) that it was a healthy, whole grain low fat recipe. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Follansbee, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I wasn't terribly impressed with this recipe. We didn't even eat the leftovers, if that is any indication. I know there have to be better whole grain banana bread recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Very nice flavour and texture. I added some cinnamon and vanilla, which gave it a little zip. (I meant to add some walnuts, too, which would have given the bread some crunch, but I forgot.) I also used one whole egg instead of 2 whites, brown sugar instead of Splenda, and only 4 bananas (that's all I had). The only problem I had was that after about 50 minutes in the oven, the top was very browned, but it was still slightly undercooked at the bottom. Next time, I may try reducing the oven temp to 325 and maybe substituting a 1/2 cup of the whole wheat flour for white flour. But it's a great basic recipe and I will fool around with it some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I know that the changes I made make this more fattening but I had to share because this turned out so yummy. I used butter instead of sour cream and one whole egg. At least the flax and whole wheat organic flour I used makes me feel a bit better about cheating. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I really liked this recipe, however I did alter it some because of what I had on hand and preference. I used dark brown sugar instead of splenda and vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream. Plus, I threw in a tablspoon or two or whole wheat germ. It turned out wonderfully. It will make a great quick breakfast on days when I'm short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Delicious healthy banana bread. I followed others recomendations by using brown sugar instead of the splenda (I don't like using artificial sweetners), 5 bananas instead of 3, 1/2c of applesauce, 1 tsp. of cinnamon, 1/2tsp nutmeg and cut 1/4c of flour and added 1c. oats. I'm always looking for healthier versions of our family favorites and this is now one of them. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States