Whole Grain Healthy Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
To my surprise, my family really enjoyed this banana bread! I used brown sugar instead of splenda. I used less wheat flour and added oatmeal, I also used yogurt instead of sour cream. I made two batches and 1 batch I made mini muffins, the 2nd batch I made the regular loaf. The muffins were great to eat on the go and just a quick go to snack. We will be using this recipe again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
One word: fantastic. Super easy, delicious and healthy! Couldn't ask for anything more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
yummy! I followed the recipe and didn't substitue ingredients. i liked that it was crunchy alittle on top and moist in middle.. great healthy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and this came out like goo with a hard crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thefayray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Really good banana bread, moist, healthy and satisfying. I substituted, like some others, based on what I had on hand, and used nonfat vanilla yogurt instead of the sour cream. I also used half the amount of Splenda, since the bananas I used were REALLY ripe. I'm also amazed that there's no oil. Great recipe - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This bread was so healthy and satisfying! I followed the recipe almost exactly -- but substituted 1/2 cup brown sugar (don't like splenda) and reduced the flour by 1/4 cup (seemed dry during the mixing.) I can't believe it doesn't have oil, it is so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Very moist and hearty. Definitely not cake-like for those who were looking for that. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Basically it was gross. I followed the recipie, a few adjustments i used brown sugar instead, 1/3 cup walnuts, bit of cinnamon and nutmeg, 1 cup flour 1 cup oats still seemed too wet after adding all wet ingredents. So i added a few tablespoons of wheat germ and bit more flour. i used 4 bananas approx. and low fat yogurt instead of sour cream. anyway it was still wayy too mosit when it came out of the oven i tasted some... it tasted SO BAD!! it was like gooey flour no flavor besides the od walnut i put in myself. Defintely adjust before attempting. i know other people have used just 1 cup oats and 1/4 cup flour ... so i dont know what happen to mine ,any suggestions much appreacaited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Made some modifications and it was delicious! I made cookies out of the mix since I felt like it, but they ended up tasting like they definitely should have been muffins =) Here's what I used * 1/4 cup brown sugar * 1/4 cup honey * 5 ripe bananas, mashed * 1/2 cup vanilla soy milk * 1/4 cup nonfat greek yogurt * 1 egg * 2 cups whole wheat flour * 1 teaspoon baking soda * 1/2 teaspoon salt * 1/2 cup natural instant oats * a lot of blackberries!!! * a lot of walnuts!!! Bake on 375 for 10-15 mins (yes I burned the cookies to the bottom of the pan because I did not grease with enough oil- whoops. but they were perfect otherwise!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie fruitbagel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Very good. Thank you for submitting such a healthy alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States