Whole Grain Healthy Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
To my surprise, my family really enjoyed this banana bread! I used brown sugar instead of splenda. I used less wheat flour and added oatmeal, I also used yogurt instead of sour cream. I made two batches and 1 batch I made mini muffins, the 2nd batch I made the regular loaf. The muffins were great to eat on the go and just a quick go to snack. We will be using this recipe again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
One word: fantastic. Super easy, delicious and healthy! Couldn't ask for anything more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
yummy! I followed the recipe and didn't substitue ingredients. i liked that it was crunchy alittle on top and moist in middle.. great healthy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and this came out like goo with a hard crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thefayray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Really good banana bread, moist, healthy and satisfying. I substituted, like some others, based on what I had on hand, and used nonfat vanilla yogurt instead of the sour cream. I also used half the amount of Splenda, since the bananas I used were REALLY ripe. I'm also amazed that there's no oil. Great recipe - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This bread was so healthy and satisfying! I followed the recipe almost exactly -- but substituted 1/2 cup brown sugar (don't like splenda) and reduced the flour by 1/4 cup (seemed dry during the mixing.) I can't believe it doesn't have oil, it is so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Very moist and hearty. Definitely not cake-like for those who were looking for that. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Basically it was gross. I followed the recipie, a few adjustments i used brown sugar instead, 1/3 cup walnuts, bit of cinnamon and nutmeg, 1 cup flour 1 cup oats still seemed too wet after adding all wet ingredents. So i added a few tablespoons of wheat germ and bit more flour. i used 4 bananas approx. and low fat yogurt instead of sour cream. anyway it was still wayy too mosit when it came out of the oven i tasted some... it tasted SO BAD!! it was like gooey flour no flavor besides the od walnut i put in myself. Defintely adjust before attempting. i know other people have used just 1 cup oats and 1/4 cup flour ... so i dont know what happen to mine ,any suggestions much appreacaited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Made some modifications and it was delicious! I made cookies out of the mix since I felt like it, but they ended up tasting like they definitely should have been muffins =) Here's what I used * 1/4 cup brown sugar * 1/4 cup honey * 5 ripe bananas, mashed * 1/2 cup vanilla soy milk * 1/4 cup nonfat greek yogurt * 1 egg * 2 cups whole wheat flour * 1 teaspoon baking soda * 1/2 teaspoon salt * 1/2 cup natural instant oats * a lot of blackberries!!! * a lot of walnuts!!! Bake on 375 for 10-15 mins (yes I burned the cookies to the bottom of the pan because I did not grease with enough oil- whoops. but they were perfect otherwise!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie fruitbagel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Very good. Thank you for submitting such a healthy alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States