Whole Grain Healthy Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
The best I've ever made and healthy, too! I did substitute brown sugar for the splenda and used one cup white whole wheat and one cup whole wheat flour. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is great. I followed someone's suggestions of adding maple syrup and brown sugar and chocolate chunks and it made it fantastic. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I thought this was so, so good. I didn't have any flax seed, so I ground a bit of oatmeal and threw in a dash of vegetable oil. I did muffins, half with walnuts and half without. The ones with walnuts I thought were particularly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I don't normally write reviews, but am very impressed with this recipe. DH & I have made gret strides in making better food choices. Low-fat, low-suger, whole grains etc. I've really been missing baked goods. It seems that so many of the healthy recipes just don't cut it for me. Gummy, lacking in flavor. I'd rather go without than have a mediocre banana bread. This recipe surprise me. It's good! It's really, really good! I will be making again. I used Splenda brown sugar and added cinnamon & nutmeg per other reveiwers suggestion. I used 4 bananas (cause that is what I had on hand) and 1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce. Other than those changes, I followed the recipe. The bread is moist and tastes like a banana bread should! Even skeptical DH took two slices to eat during his commute this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I made some substitutions - and I think that it (greek yogurt 0%%) made it more chewy. I also used 1/2 the amount of milk, and used fat free condensed because it was on hand. Also, I did not use measuring spoons, no nothing was measured precisely. I also added vanilla bean paste I had on hand (sugared but strong vanilla paste) and Siagon cinnamon (that type helps keep blood sugar level) because it seemed people suggested that for a fuller body taste. I served it with Smart balance. If I were making it for a guest, I would have ground up some oats and added some regular bread flour to ease the denseness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Yum! We love this bread! Totally guilt-free and totally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pastor K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I wasn't expecting much, but this was very, very good! Just wish I had added nuts--just because I like 'em. UPDATE: I've started making this with walnuts, and it's so wonderful that I find myself making this all the time. I'm almost never without this bread and never get tired of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I'm sure the recipe is fine as is, but I used soya milk, apple sauce instead of sour cream (need to use up) and a whole egg instead of just whites, 1 cup spelt flour and 1 cup whole grain and for the sweetner 1/4 cup brown rice syrup. Also added pumpkin seeds, cranberries and mini choc. chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
These are excellent. My kids ate them up quickly. I used several others suggestions to make mine. I used regular sugar (about 1/2 cup) plain yogurt for sour cream, added applesauce and left out the flax seed meal. This will be a recipe I will use many times. Healthy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mokena, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
My rating is really a 2.5. I made mine following the recipe exactly. Are they as good as regular banana bread? Of course not, they're low fat, low sugar! But they are edible and they did a good job curing my "baked goods craving" without ruining my healthy eating habits. They are definitely not great as is, but this recipe is something I can work with. Next time I will add some cinnamon and vanilla extract...which should help enhance the flavor without altering the sugar/calories/fat, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States