Whole Grain Healthy Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I also altered the recipe. I replaced the splenda with 3/4 cup of brown sugar, used 3 bananas and 1 cup of applesauce and 1/4 cup of Greek yogurt in place of the sour cream. I don't like to waste egg yolks so I used two eggs. Mine comes out a little heavy and my husband calls it Banana Health BARS instead of bread. We love it for breakfast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I made this with 1 alteration, instead of Splenda (not a fan of artificial sweeteners) i use 1/2 cup white granulated sugar. The recipe instructs to bake for 1 hour and 10 minutes yet it took me only half hour to bake this. I find finished product dry. The next time I make this I will be adding more liquid or perhaps apple sauce as some reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I made this last night and it turned out wonderful! However I did make some changes. Instead of splenda, I used 1/2 cup agave nectar. I also used the egg whites of one egg so I probably used more than the recommended 2 teaspoons. I also added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, 1/2 teaspoon of lemon extract, 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon, and a sprinkle of nutmeg! AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misstammy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
My kids beg for this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
My daughters LOVED it!!! The only change we made was substituting Agave for the splenda and extending the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tstillman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
My family is on a mission to eat healthier and this is going to be a breakfast staple, my 3 year old loves this she thinks its a cupcake. Thanks for the recipe, it is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I ended up using the substitutions from angiehdavis as i was short on bananas and am not a big Splenda fan. These turned out to be very moist, had to cook them quite a while, maybe 35 minutes for 4 small loaf pans. Next time i will use all bananas for more banana flavor. SO loved this version though! I liked the addition of oats and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
The core of this recipe is excellent. The three changes I made was to substitute organic blue agave for the Splenda, 4 (not 5) bananas, 1/2 cup of cinnamon apple sauce, and 1 packet of Stevia. The result was excellent. An extremely healthy and fulfilling bread that is good any time of day. The healthy agave is a low glycemic sweetener. It does add calories, but a good substitute for the questionable nature of Splenda. Luv it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
These were amazing! I changed some of the ingredients as recommended by others and wow! Instead of 2 cups of flour I added 1 1/2 with another 1/2 cup of oats. I only had 4 bananas so added some homemade applesauce (just finished the jars that my son didn't eat at dinner:)) added vanilla yoghurt instead of sour cream, added flax seeds (just poured a bunch in), and added 1tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. Oh, and instead of sugar added 1/2 cup of maple syrup (I am Canadian after all!) Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Unfortunately this was not good. It was not moist or tasty - kind of takes the point out of eating. Understandably if you want a healthier banana bread you may have to give up some taste but this was too extreme for me and very dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States