Whole Grain Healthy Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I also altered the recipe. I replaced the splenda with 3/4 cup of brown sugar, used 3 bananas and 1 cup of applesauce and 1/4 cup of Greek yogurt in place of the sour cream. I don't like to waste egg yolks so I used two eggs. Mine comes out a little heavy and my husband calls it Banana Health BARS instead of bread. We love it for breakfast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I made this with 1 alteration, instead of Splenda (not a fan of artificial sweeteners) i use 1/2 cup white granulated sugar. The recipe instructs to bake for 1 hour and 10 minutes yet it took me only half hour to bake this. I find finished product dry. The next time I make this I will be adding more liquid or perhaps apple sauce as some reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I made this last night and it turned out wonderful! However I did make some changes. Instead of splenda, I used 1/2 cup agave nectar. I also used the egg whites of one egg so I probably used more than the recommended 2 teaspoons. I also added 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, 1/2 teaspoon of lemon extract, 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon, and a sprinkle of nutmeg! AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misstammy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
My kids beg for this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
My daughters LOVED it!!! The only change we made was substituting Agave for the splenda and extending the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tstillman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
My family is on a mission to eat healthier and this is going to be a breakfast staple, my 3 year old loves this she thinks its a cupcake. Thanks for the recipe, it is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I ended up using the substitutions from angiehdavis as i was short on bananas and am not a big Splenda fan. These turned out to be very moist, had to cook them quite a while, maybe 35 minutes for 4 small loaf pans. Next time i will use all bananas for more banana flavor. SO loved this version though! I liked the addition of oats and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
The core of this recipe is excellent. The three changes I made was to substitute organic blue agave for the Splenda, 4 (not 5) bananas, 1/2 cup of cinnamon apple sauce, and 1 packet of Stevia. The result was excellent. An extremely healthy and fulfilling bread that is good any time of day. The healthy agave is a low glycemic sweetener. It does add calories, but a good substitute for the questionable nature of Splenda. Luv it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
These were amazing! I changed some of the ingredients as recommended by others and wow! Instead of 2 cups of flour I added 1 1/2 with another 1/2 cup of oats. I only had 4 bananas so added some homemade applesauce (just finished the jars that my son didn't eat at dinner:)) added vanilla yoghurt instead of sour cream, added flax seeds (just poured a bunch in), and added 1tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. Oh, and instead of sugar added 1/2 cup of maple syrup (I am Canadian after all!) Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Unfortunately this was not good. It was not moist or tasty - kind of takes the point out of eating. Understandably if you want a healthier banana bread you may have to give up some taste but this was too extreme for me and very dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States