Whole Egg Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I never in a million years would have thought the comments re: using an immulsion blender would have worked. From start to finish, this took all of - what - 10 seconds? maybe 15? Halved recipe, dumped everything (oil last) in mason jar, placed blender on bottom as others recommended and TADAH! Totally incredibly fantastic! Thanks so much all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This mayonnaise is great. I usually half the recipe so I can use it up quicker. I put everything in a jar that it will be stored in. Using an emmersion (stick) blender. Place the blender in the bottom of the jar and turn it on. By the time I raise the blender it's done. I get creative and add garlic powder, chili powder or whatever suites the recipe I'm making and viola...yummy mayo without the soybean oil. I use peanut oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paige
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was great. I used prepared mustard and used double mustard and vinegar because it tasted like oil before. Easy to make, but took me 20mins in a blender. I will make this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
The first time I made this the consistency was perfect as I streamed in the oil. Then I decided to kick my blender into high gear and that turned it watery. I went back to the reviews and discovered that that was a no-no. So, I tried again (while my family waited patiently for BLTs). This time I halved the recipe, used canola oil instead of vegetable oil (does that matter?) and turned the blender to medium and left it there while I streamed in the oil. This time the texture was perfect but I was honestly a nervous wreck that I would waste so many ingredients again! Upon taste, it was extremely bland. I would prefer a sauce with more tang. I'm going to use it still; maybe look around the world wide web and see how I can adjust this recipe to my liking! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This is the best mayo recipe I've tried. I have an immersion blender and made this in less than a minute!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Awesome and easy. Never buying mayo again! I was worried it wouldn't taste like normal mayo because it uses the whole egg; I am use to it being made with egg yolks. I didn't have mustard powder so I added 1/2 tsp of dijon and little less vinegar since dijon has a little vinegar in it already.... turned out great. Also added a couple chipolte peppers to a batch and made a smokey/spicey mayo=yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I tried it slow with the oil and after 10 min in the blender of still runny I got out the food processor and tried that. I am still blending and adding oil real slow. Runny as heck. what am i doing wrong I know I love to eat now if I could just make my own mayo i'd be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Love this recipe. Love that I'm not wasting half the eggs and the consistency is perfect. If it's coming out to thin try to blend the other ingredients till the egg color is pale yellow then SlOOOWLY add the oil. And if you have a food processor (mine's a cuisinart) Check to see if there's a small hole in the bottom of the hollow, cup like, food pusher, sometimes you can put the oil in there and it will drip in slowly on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I used olive oil in-place of vegetable oil as suggested by one of the other reviewers on here. DO NOT DO IT! If you love yourself/your family do not do it. It was beyond horrible. I have no doubt this recipe would have been great had I not used olive oil. I gave it 4 stars because I feel it does need lemon juice which isn't included in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katsiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
flawless! I made as written with the addition of one tbsp of fresh lemon juice because I like mine extra tangy. Used to recommendation of another reviewer by using an immersion blender in a wide mouth jar and I was amazed at how easy it was, great it came together, and there was NO CLEANUP :) The first time I made this I used olive oil and it tasted very... olive-y. I would only do this if you love the taste of olive oil because it continues to be the dominate taste in the mayo. Will use something light next time. I have also thought about using rice wine vinegar next time with a light oil to make an asian inspired mayo for sushi and salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boxsquat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States