Whole Egg Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I did like this recipe for the most part. I added 1/4 teaspoon more salt and another tablespoon of vinegar. Then I added a couple of tablespoons of sugar. Really good at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This looks like mayonnaise, the consistency is perfect, but it has a slight bitter taste. I made another mayonnaise recipe on this site and it was bitter too. I followed these recipes to the letter, so I don't know where the bitterness is coming from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This was my 2nd attempt at making mayo - I really appreciated PattyJoy's tip! Instead of a blender, I used my food processor. I also used Olive Oil including 1 T of White Truffle oil. WOW - I will never buy mayo again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This is the basic recipe I use for mayo, and it works every single time. I've made it with all the ingredients at room temperature, and I've yanked a couple eggs out of the fridge and slopped it together, and it still works. I personally am not a fan of mayo with olive oil for things like sandwiches (my main mayo use), but it's good if you're going for more of a sauce than a condiment. Adding fresh herbs to this recipe is also good, and when the week's lunchmeat is roast beef I usually throw in some prepared horseradish and a clove of garlic. Lemon juice subbed for vinegar (and a little grated lemon rind if you're feeling fancy) really does improve the taste, but it's perfectly fine as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
AWESOME! Finally got my nerve up to make homemade mayo and this recipe was perfect since I have fresh eggs. So glad I read so many reviews first, used the wide mouth mason jar and immersion blender others suggested. Added all the ingredients with the egg being first but being a little leary I put my blender in before adding the oil. Worked PERFECTLY! I did 2 subs, used my homemade seasoned salt for the salt and lemon juice in place of the vinegar. I still can't believe how easy this was! For those finding it bland, I wonder if it isn't the extra salt and sugar commercial mayo has that they were missing. Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
this recipe was absolutely amazing. i have never had homemade mayo before, and i couldnt believe how good mayo could taste. the difference between this recipe and store bought is night and day, both in terms of texture and taste. followed the recipe to a t, and used my kitchen aid stick blender. i am looking forward to trying variations suggested by other reviewers in the future. i will never, ever buy store mayo again. thank you so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I have made this a few times. If you follow the recipe exactly as written, at least with a food processor, it comes out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Growing up in the South, mayonnaise was added to most all sandwiches and salads. Now with all the changes in commercial mayonnaise, I was looking for one that tastes like I remembered, and this is it! I did do as some recommended, using a little lemon juice as well as vinegar, and it came out wonderfully! This is a great recipe to use as a base for other things too, dressings, sauces, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
The first time I tried this I ended up with a watery substance. The secret is with the immersion blender, I also used egg yolk and didn't use the whites but that wouldn't matter. I used half vinegar and half lemon juice and it taste good. I put in all of the ingredients and started the blender and then started adding oil and voila, mayo!!! For those of you that thought it was bland, spice it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellcates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This is a great recipe if you are concerned about wasting the egg white. I have made this recipe using all kinds of oil and my favorite is regular vegetable oil. I would not recommend using Extra Virgin Olive Oil, as it lends to much flavor to the end result and can give your mayonnaise an almost bitter note. Like others I have split the acid using 1 Tablespoon White Vinegar and 1 Tablespoon Lemon Juice for a nice addition to the flavor, I also added an extra 1/4 teaspoon of salt. Also, like many others suggest, I use my immersion blender and add all the ingredients to a quart mason jar and start at the bottom and blend up. It is amazingly effective and mess free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States