Whole Egg Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Too much discussion of "slowly adding oil" etc. I increase the recipe by 50% and use a 50/50 blend of canola and olive oil, add a tablespoon of sugar and a clove of garlic, use a stick blender in a quart jar to mix all the ingredients but the oil. after about 30 seconds I dump the 3 cups of oil on top and move the stick blender up and down for about 30 seconds. A perfect quart of fresh, homemade mayo every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madeira, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Fantastic recipe! Thanks so much for posting it. I am allergic to preservatives in food, so I have to make most everything I cook. I will use this recipe from now on. I only have a blender so I used that. It worked good, but I think a food processor would be easier. I plan to get one soon. Also, used the suggestion of the plastic cup with a tiny hole poked in the bottom to drizzle the oil. Worked like a charm. Was only able to use 1-1/2 cups of oil because may got so thick. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I love this recipe! I have a cuisinart food processor that has a drizzle hole and it works perfectly every time. Nice and thick. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Can't believe this recipe has been rated anything less than a 5. It tastes just like Best Foods! No wait. It's better! I didn't even have the egg at room temperature. It' practically idiot proof. Dump all the ingredients but the oil in a cuisinart, pour the oil into the food pusher (which has a small pinhole in the bottom just for this purpose!) and go! Lemon juice or champagne vinegar are fantastic. Half olive + canola also great. A little french sea salt. Ooh lah lah. I'll never go back to Best Foods. NEVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Made this. Took about 10 mins. and was received with rave reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Jackson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I did like this recipe for the most part. I added 1/4 teaspoon more salt and another tablespoon of vinegar. Then I added a couple of tablespoons of sugar. Really good at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This looks like mayonnaise, the consistency is perfect, but it has a slight bitter taste. I made another mayonnaise recipe on this site and it was bitter too. I followed these recipes to the letter, so I don't know where the bitterness is coming from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This was my 2nd attempt at making mayo - I really appreciated PattyJoy's tip! Instead of a blender, I used my food processor. I also used Olive Oil including 1 T of White Truffle oil. WOW - I will never buy mayo again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This is the basic recipe I use for mayo, and it works every single time. I've made it with all the ingredients at room temperature, and I've yanked a couple eggs out of the fridge and slopped it together, and it still works. I personally am not a fan of mayo with olive oil for things like sandwiches (my main mayo use), but it's good if you're going for more of a sauce than a condiment. Adding fresh herbs to this recipe is also good, and when the week's lunchmeat is roast beef I usually throw in some prepared horseradish and a clove of garlic. Lemon juice subbed for vinegar (and a little grated lemon rind if you're feeling fancy) really does improve the taste, but it's perfectly fine as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
AWESOME! Finally got my nerve up to make homemade mayo and this recipe was perfect since I have fresh eggs. So glad I read so many reviews first, used the wide mouth mason jar and immersion blender others suggested. Added all the ingredients with the egg being first but being a little leary I put my blender in before adding the oil. Worked PERFECTLY! I did 2 subs, used my homemade seasoned salt for the salt and lemon juice in place of the vinegar. I still can't believe how easy this was! For those finding it bland, I wonder if it isn't the extra salt and sugar commercial mayo has that they were missing. Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States