Whole Chicken Slow Cooker Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
We loved this recipe! I am not the cook in my house typically, but I put the spice rub on the chicken I got from the farmers market last night, and ran the slow cooker tonight. We have a 7 quart oval slow cooker and found about 5 hours on low was perfect (it ranges from 4-8 on the recipe, which I thought was a huge difference). Alternatively you can definitely smell when the chicken is ready to be checked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maegan Kiger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I followed this recipe with one difference I used "smoked paprika" because it was on hand and was VERY pleased with the result. I used this dry rub the night before and the next morning I put it in the slow cooker with some veggies and went to work. SO NICE to come home to a hearty meal after a long day. the chicken was VERY tender I think the salt had something to do with that and I would not use any less personally. great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This was one of the best crock pot chicken recipes I've ever tasted. My chicken weighed 5-lbs and I made the rub as directed except reduced the salt to 2 teaspoons since I have to watch my salt intake. I didn't notice the rub was to be put on overnight, mine was only on for about 3 hours, and I lifted the skin and put rub under the skin also, but the flavor was still awesome. I took the advice of another review and put some sweet onion along with celery chunks in the cavity. I made a two inch stand under the chicken with some potato chunks to keep the meat from laying on the bottom. That worked out great and husband ate the potatoes, too greasy for me but he loved them. I think this kept the chicken from falling apart since it wasn't laying in the greasy stock. I used a meat thermometer and cooked on low until the temp reached 170°, which took 8 hours exactly. My crock pot is old and cooks low when it says low, my newer larger one cooks much hotter, so I suggest checking the temperature to keep from over or under-cooking. This chicken was so tender, juicy and flavorful, it really did taste as good as the rotisserie chicken we buy from our favorite store...it was finger lickin' good. I'm making this one again...so dang easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Delicious! great flavor and fall-off-the-bone tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
EASY AND DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by langstonjd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Erickson, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Excellent dish and as noted in another review is very similar to "Roast Sticky Chicken - Rotisserie Style" seasonings also on this site. Not having to have the oven on and heating the whole house (it's hot all the time in Florida) is great and the meat is delicious, moist, and fall apart tender. The stock is incredible and I'm able to make plenty of gravy which I thicken up a bit with a cornstarch slurry. The chicken smells amazing cooking and tastes amazing as well. I do cut back on both the salt and peppers using 2 t. salt, 1/2 t. cayenne, 1/2 t. white pepper and no black pepper and find it to be perfect for our taste. I do quarter an onion and roll the quarters in the seasoning then stuffed them into the cavity. Now when I buy whole chickens for this dish I clean and season then wrap well and freeze. When I know I'm going to make one I thaw it out in the refrigerator the day before. Works very well and good to know I can prep a few and freeze for when I want to make this meal. Good idea to make it in the slowcooker bhbitts, it's one of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I love the seasoning on this chicken; however, it is almost the same as this site's Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style. This recipe adds an extra 1/2 tsp. cayenne. The good thing about cooking the chicken in the slow cooker is it requires no attention and it is so tender it falls off the bone. The down side? It falls off the bone and lacks in appearance. Still delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by HeatherH
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Great rub! I put it on the chicken and put the chicken in a vacuum bag overnight. I couldn't even get the chicken out of the crock pot without it just falling off the bones. I definitely don't recommend going over the 8 hours of cooking, mine was in 10 hours andrive was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
My husband is still raving about this recipe! He is normally the cook, but I attempted this recipe due to having all the ingredients on hand. I could not have turned out better! And it's so healthy! Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaci Strawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This is the best chicken recipe I have made! No need to buy a rotisserie chicken at the store any more! It fell off the bone. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States