Whole Chicken Slow Cooker Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Excellent dish and as noted in another review is very similar to "Roast Sticky Chicken - Rotisserie Style" seasonings also on this site. Not having to have the oven on and heating the whole house (it's hot all the time in Florida) is great and the meat is delicious, moist, and fall apart tender. The stock is incredible and I'm able to make plenty of gravy which I thicken up a bit with a cornstarch slurry. The chicken smells amazing cooking and tastes amazing as well. I do cut back on both the salt and peppers using 2 t. salt, 1/2 t. cayenne, 1/2 t. white pepper and no black pepper and find it to be perfect for our taste. I do quarter an onion and roll the quarters in the seasoning then stuffed them into the cavity. Now when I buy whole chickens for this dish I clean and season then wrap well and freeze. When I know I'm going to make one I thaw it out in the refrigerator the day before. Works very well and good to know I can prep a few and freeze for when I want to make this meal. Good idea to make it in the slowcooker bhbitts, it's one of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This was one of the best crock pot chicken recipes I've ever tasted. My chicken weighed 5-lbs and I made the rub as directed except reduced the salt to 2 teaspoons since I have to watch my salt intake. I didn't notice the rub was to be put on overnight, mine was only on for about 3 hours, and I lifted the skin and put rub under the skin also, but the flavor was still awesome. I took the advice of another review and put some sweet onion along with celery chunks in the cavity. I made a two inch stand under the chicken with some potato chunks to keep the meat from laying on the bottom. That worked out great and husband ate the potatoes, too greasy for me but he loved them. I think this kept the chicken from falling apart since it wasn't laying in the greasy stock. I used a meat thermometer and cooked on low until the temp reached 170°, which took 8 hours exactly. My crock pot is old and cooks low when it says low, my newer larger one cooks much hotter, so I suggest checking the temperature to keep from over or under-cooking. This chicken was so tender, juicy and flavorful, it really did taste as good as the rotisserie chicken we buy from our favorite store...it was finger lickin' good. I'm making this one again...so dang easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I followed this recipe with one difference I used "smoked paprika" because it was on hand and was VERY pleased with the result. I used this dry rub the night before and the next morning I put it in the slow cooker with some veggies and went to work. SO NICE to come home to a hearty meal after a long day. the chicken was VERY tender I think the salt had something to do with that and I would not use any less personally. great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Very good and very easy! I didn't put it in the bag overnight (no time), I used only black pepper (I didn't have any white pepper on hand) and I laid the chicken on a chopped onion in the slow cooker. When it was done I took all the good meat off the chicken I tossed the bones back in the slow cooker along with carrot, celery, onion, bay leaf, parsley, thyme and salt and cooked on low overnight to make soup stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
We loved this recipe! I am not the cook in my house typically, but I put the spice rub on the chicken I got from the farmers market last night, and ran the slow cooker tonight. We have a 7 quart oval slow cooker and found about 5 hours on low was perfect (it ranges from 4-8 on the recipe, which I thought was a huge difference). Alternatively you can definitely smell when the chicken is ready to be checked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maegan Kiger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Easy and delicious! I set the marinated bird on top of some whole potatoes, carrots, and onions. Thought it seemed like too much salt so I used one less tsp. The bird was perfectly seasoned but next time I'll sprinkle the remaining salt over the veggies. I added a bit of water but didn't need to. Lots of juice when it was done. I didn't want to add any heat to my non-air conditioned house so I set it on a table on my back porch and left for work. Came home to a great meal and I'm looking forward to the leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I love the seasoning on this chicken; however, it is almost the same as this site's Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style. This recipe adds an extra 1/2 tsp. cayenne. The good thing about cooking the chicken in the slow cooker is it requires no attention and it is so tender it falls off the bone. The down side? It falls off the bone and lacks in appearance. Still delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This is tasty. The seasonings really do have that rotisserie flavor. Based on the amount of salt in this recipe I see how the store bought cooked chickens may be so salty now. Whole organic chickens were pretty pricey, so I went with a cut up one. A lady on the buzz suggested an onion in the cavity. That is a great idea. I modified it by layering the chicken with 2" pieces of onions. I mixed the seasonings and shook the chicken pieces in a bag with it, after cleaning the chicken and rubbing on a little oil. I did change up the seasonings some. For the peppers, all 3, I did 1/4 tsp. I did 1 1/2 tsp of salt, 1 tsp. of paprika and the rest of the seasonings the same. I took mine out of the crock-pot about 1-1 1/2 hours early, due to it being cut up. The meat is in a lot of liquid, at least with using the onion anyway. Next time I will elevate it on some balls of foil or other method. The cooked onions were tasty too. I may try a gravy, as suggested, from the strained liquid. The fall off the bone meat and onions will be good with a rice pilaf. Don't be expecting crispy chicken or skin at least following the method above. If that is not an issue, this works fine. Note: I also used a crock-pot liner for ease and clean-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Way too hot so far as the amount of different pepper used. We like spicy food but this ones taste is off balanced with the amount of pepper. Won't be making this again. I followed the recipe exact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOOKIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Made this last night. OMG good! I usually bake my chicken but too dry. I will never do it another way again. I also reduced the salt to 2 tsp, skipped the white pepper (didn't have any) in it's place I used Chile & Garlic seasoning and cut back on the dry cayenne pepper. Used a quarter onion in the cavity. Served with chicken stuffing and gravy. My most satisfying meal in a really long time. Over and beyond my expectations! Thank you for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISANY01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States