Whit's Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS NOT MENTIONED: My husband is extremely picky about his Mexican food due to where he grew up, so I tried each of the enchilada recipes that rank higher than this 1st. He was sadly disappointed w/each as was I since I like to impress him w/my cooking, but then I tried this w/much hesitation due to how easy it was & what do you know ...simplicity was the winner! 1. put green or red enchilada sauce on the bottom (enough to ONLY lightly cover the bottom) but PAM works too 2. Change it up by/adding chopped green peppers or mushroom in the mix, and sliced olives ON TOP after adding heavy cream. 3. use 1 pkg of tysons/oscar meyer already made fajita or grilled chicken to save time (1 heaping cup) 4.make in the morning BUT add heavy cream JUST before baking it! I still add a little taco seasoning to the chicken for added spice BUT NOT necessary. 5 Bake until it looks golden all over with a little crispy look from the heavy cream so it's not soggy inside. I eye the amount of heavy cream for this reason too ...just drizzle enough for the amount I want & I use a smaller glass dish (making 6) since that's how many we will eat but makes (8-9 heaping amounts). My husband likes soft enchiladas and not crispy like me, so we put foil over it while baking if he's eating. Eat with "Best Spanish Rice!" So easy & with ingred. always on hand, not to mention better than complex recipes! Again, simplicity proves to be the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
LOVED this recipe! Made it exactly per directions the first time, then experimented the 2nd, 3rd and 4th times! I used canned chicken broth to cook the breasts in, plus added 1/2 envelope taco seasoning mix as the chk was boiling. Also, I threw in some boneless, skinless chicken thighs to add some flavor. I also sauteed 1/2 large onion and 1/2 green pepper chopped with the garlic/jalapeno (seeded)/chilies mix. To the cheese mix, I used Jack/Colby/Cheddar cheeses; 3/4 c. salsa and 1/2 small can red enchilada sauce. I also added the chk broth to the mix instead of water (and used almost 1 c.). Finally, I poured the rest of the red enchilada sauce on top of the enchiladas after I used the heavy cream. Perfect, perfect, perfect!!! Thank you, Whit for this fabulous base recipe! I never would have thought to make these at home and now have a blast trying out new add-ins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I made this for my in-laws with some of the suggested changes and everyone loved it! I used chicken broth when water was called for (even to boil the chicken), added a packet of taco seasoning and some onion to the jalepenos (canned) and chiles. I shredded the chicken, dipped the tortillas in the leftover broth before filling them. After filling them and putting them in a sprayed dish I sprinkled the cheese on top(I used Pepper Jack), poured the cream over that and then a can of enchilada sauce. I covered them for 30 minutes then uncovered them for 10 minutes. Waiting 5 minutes to serve helps it set. Thanks for posting this recipe and for all the recommended changes. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I had to improvise on this a little, but not enough to really change the recipe. Shredded rotisserie chicken made this super easy and, since I had no jalapeno peppers or green chiles, Pepper Jack cheese made a fine substitute. I spread a thin layer of tomatillo sauce on the bottom of the baking dish before placing the enchiladas, and put a little in the enchiladas when filling them as well. Just before serving, I topped them with some chopped tomato and a dollop of sour cream. The final result was okay, but in my view needed more sauce (cream) than was called for and would have been very dull without the addition of the tomatillo sauce and sour cream. If I make these again, I'll know they'll be better with some embellishment. As written, these are just so-so and a little boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
I would actually give this 4 1/2 stars - it's really tasty and easy! I used pepper jack cheese instead of plain montery jack and it was very good. I bet you could add in anything from onions, mushrooms and black olives to give it even more zip. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Highland Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Although the basic recipe seemed workable, I approached it with some reservations because of other posted comments. A few changes seemed to help. I sauteed a small onion (finely diced) with the peppers and garlic. The filling was still a bit bland so I added a handful of fresh chopped cilantro, salt, pepper and a good squeeze of lime juice. I also substituted heavy cream for the water. I then added an extra step that takes a few minutes but, in my opinion, improves the texture. Pour some of the cream in a shallow dish. Heat a small amount of oil in a skillet. Quickly fry the tortillas, flipping over after a few seconds. Dip each fried tortilla into the cream - then proceed with filling and rolling. Then use the cream as stated in the recipe (I increased the amount to 1-1/2 cups to minimize the chance of this drying out). I covered the dish with foil and baked it for 15 minutes, then removed the foil for the remainder of the baking time. Pretty good overall, with the suggested changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
This was a delicious recipe! The enchiladas are very creamy and cheesy, so they are fairly rich. As far as being spicy, they were mild-to-medium. We'd recommend adding more peppers if you like dishes more spicy. Definitely will make them again- perhaps next time with some low-fat or fat-free ingredients to lower the fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is our favorite base recipe for enchiladas! My kids absolutely love it! We experiment every time with different ingredients here and there. Pepper-jack cheese is definitely a favorite here. Sometimes when I've had a long day and don't feel like making enchiladas, I'll use this recipe and just layer it like a lasagna...it's excellent like that too! I cook extra boneless/skinless chicken breasts, and freeze them to make putting this dinner together faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Easy to prepare? Nah, not really, there are much easier enchilada recipes out there! From the time I turned the water on to boil the chicken to the time I put dinner on the table, an hour and a half had passed (no interruptions either). Very yummy, but lots of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
While I personally don't like chicken enchiladas, I made this for an office luncheon and everyone loved them! I used corn tortillas instead of flour and added one package of Schilling/McCormick chicken taco seasoning to the cheese mixture. Every last bite was eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States