Whit's Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
I would actually give this 4 1/2 stars - it's really tasty and easy! I used pepper jack cheese instead of plain montery jack and it was very good. I bet you could add in anything from onions, mushrooms and black olives to give it even more zip. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Highland Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
This was a delicious recipe! The enchiladas are very creamy and cheesy, so they are fairly rich. As far as being spicy, they were mild-to-medium. We'd recommend adding more peppers if you like dishes more spicy. Definitely will make them again- perhaps next time with some low-fat or fat-free ingredients to lower the fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
I added about 1/4 cup (give or take) chopped onion to Step #3. I used 1 cup of sharp cheddar, 1/2 cup pepper jack and 1/2 cup mild cheddar. Also, I must have been blind because I couldn't see where the heavy cream was added (found it now though), so mixed it with the water. There was enough of the mixture left to spread on the top of rolls. Then I added the rest of the cheeses. My Husband has requested we add these to our weekly menu. Thanks for sharing this recipe :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
I made the recipe last night and it was very good. I used boneless chicken breasts and cooked them with a little olive oil (rather than boiling). I used 1 can of enchilada sauce instead of using the heavy cream. My husband and 10 yr old daughter loved them, but our 4 yr old found them too spicey. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
I love really good, cheesey chicken enchiladas. I thought this would be the recipe I've been looking for. I made this last night and it is way too rich and sort of missing something. I added 3 chopped green onions to the chicken mixture and added some green verde salsa to the cream at the end (3/4 c cream & 1/4 c salsa)and it still just doesn't have enough zing or something. I wouldn't waste the calories with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Although was a bit heavy and cannot eat much, was a wonderful recipe. I will definetely do it again. My fiancee also loved it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Loved this dish! The only change I made was to bake my chicken and then used 1/2 cup chicken broth from the cooked chicken in place of the water and I increased the amount of green chile's to around 6 oz's. This will be a regular item at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
I was surprised by these. The recipe all sounded great except the part about pouring heavy cream over all. I thought that might make them soggy. But this was really good. Instead of the heavy cream I used fat-free evaporated milk, and it turned out great. Even the kids loved this. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I was pleasantly surprised with the outcome of this recipe. I have been searching for a white sauce chicken enchilada recipe for a very long time. This is PERFECT! Thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
This was a great recipe! Cannot wait to make again. I had some leftover chicken breasts (3) and reduced the recipe down to three servings but it made so much more. I increased the heavy cream a bit and it was perfect. Next time, I may add more chopped green chilis. I think you could add all kinds of ingredients to the chicken mixture like olives, corn or rice. I think the chicken mixture would also be tasty as a hot dip with nacho chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States