Whit's Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This was a great recipe--packed with taste if not entirely authentic. I made it exactly as written with the exception of adding some green onion to the top while they cooked. We had red salsa and guac on the side, but personally, I liked them plain. Each enchilada is extremely hearty, so these 8 will last our family of two through the week. My only complaint is that it takes WAY longer than an hour from start to finish (try closer to two) if you're going to boil and pick the chicken, which I do think is worth it. I would recommend prepping the chicken at some other time before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
these were so yummy!! however i did leave out the jalapeno cause my kids or husband don't like spicy stuff. with that said they did need a little more taste. i think next time i would add more garlic and some sauteed onions. but overall a great recipe. It really didn't take that long to make either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Just made this recipe today, I'm giving it a 5, which I suppose is "cheating" because I did a few things differently. Thanks to all the reviewers for the tips! I cooked the chicken the day before in my crockpot w. chicken broth, onions, garlic, 5 hours, then it easily shredded. As 2 of the 3 who would be eating this meal cannot tolerate much spice, I left out chiles & jalapeños. Also made the sauce last night, chopped up a little red bell pepper, white & green onions, 6 cloves of garlic, plus 1.5 tablespoons of a packet of taco seasoning while the cream cheese was melting. Had Mexican 4 Cheese shredded, so used that. By doing the sauce ahead of time, the flavors have a chance to really meld together. Today, I let everything get up to room temp before putting it together. Sprayed the dish and used red enchilada sauce to lightly coat the baking dish, then rolled everything in corn tortillas, drizzled more enchilada sauce on top along with Evaporated milk; baked 20 minutes covered in foil, 10 without the foil, then let sit for a few minutes. I served with Mexican rice, not homemade, will try that next time! We all agreed, even the spice loving one, that the level of spicy was perfect. We all had seconds and we have plenty left over! By the way, I baked these in my toaster oven, worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe, restaurant quality. I did tweak one thing but it wasn't a significant tweak, just added about 1/2 cup of Carlita's mile enchilada sauce to the bottom of the baking dish before putting the enchiladas in there. I can only find Carlita's brand at Shoppers and normally we get the medium but they were out of it. Otherwise, and except for using low fat cream cheese, I kept everything else the same. It was delish and easier than most other recipes I've found for enchiladas! I served the Carlita's enchilada sauce on the side in case anyone wanted to use it. I should look for an enchilada sauce recipe on this site to use next time. The 10 inch toritillas are enormous, I think I could scale that down a bit and have slightly smaller enchiladas and more of them. Can't WAIT to have this as leftovers for lunch today. Served with Alan's Mom's Mexican Rice. Excellent recipe, will make this many more times, and thinking of having a margarita party this summer, I think I'll make these to go with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
made exactly as directed except I used a homemade enchilada sauce. This recipe is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Oh.My.Gosh. These are so easy and so delicious! I have a supper club at my house once a week and serve 12 people each time, and I seriously think they'd eat this every week if I'd make it for them! The changes I made are pretty insignificant. I used boneless skinless breasts (just for my own convenience) and eliminated the jalapeno to make sure everyone in the group could handle it. I substituted a healthy amount of green onion instead, and added a pinch or two of adobe seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiny me

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
These taste okay I guess, The flavor is very rich. Not a bad dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I love this, my fave enchilada recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I made two changes: I added fresh spinach to the chicken/cream cheese mix and I heated the heavy cream and thickened it a little with corn starch. I served salsa along side it and after initially tasting it, my teenage son added a LOT of salsa. He said that it tasted like chicken & cream cheese without the salsa. He also suggested that I rate it only one star (couldn't eat it) until I pointed out that he cleaned his plate. He responded by saying "it was dinner...only you & I are home...the polite thing to do it eat it." I don't think I'll make it again as I have other enchilada recipes that my entire family likes. If you make it, I suggest adding taco seasonings to the chicken as another reviewer mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheffster
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Can't even describe how delicious these are. This recipe tasted just the way I had hoped for - indeed, the satisfaction quotient is absolutely off the charts. We gobbled them down!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States