Whit's Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Must use cilantro while cooking the chicken. Also my hubby and probably added a few more ingredients(cilantro, cumin, jalapeno, onion, cayenne,etc.) but I would say the prep time was way off. It took much longer than I expected and to shred the chicken and make the sauce, roll up the enchiladas, and bake. About and hour and a half time start to finish, with 2 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Scrumptious!! I modified this slightly. I sauteed garlic and poblano peppers then added cream cheese, sour cream and cream. Everyone raved about how delicious these were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I make this all the time! Sometimes I follow the recipe (which is amazing by itself) and sometimes I add things...Lots of garlic, onion, cumin, (boil the chicken in cumin) havarti cheese, muenster cheese, any cheese really! I also use the cumin water i boiled the chicken in instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Chopp Cox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
To save time I bought cooked children. My family enjoyed these and asked me to make again. Easy and good. Used salsa when serving. To make a very rich and colorful dish, serve with guacamole,sour cream and salsa, but very good just with salsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Family loved this recipe! I was doubting the cream on top but the enchiladas came out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
These were pretty good. I cut down the shredded cheese and added some Velveeta with jalapeño to give them more kick. My husband said hey were too creamy. I added salsa and sour cream after they were cooked and they were much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
The thing I love about recipes like this one, is that they give me a base. I always do the recipe first, how it's written. Then I go back and check the reviews and see what others did. Finally, I make it mine. Maybe enchiladas or burritos this time but chimichangas the next or even taquitos or quesadillas. Between Whit, the suggestions and my ideas, this recipe and all the others are freakin awesome and make me a better cook!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This was a great recipe--packed with taste if not entirely authentic. I made it exactly as written with the exception of adding some green onion to the top while they cooked. We had red salsa and guac on the side, but personally, I liked them plain. Each enchilada is extremely hearty, so these 8 will last our family of two through the week. My only complaint is that it takes WAY longer than an hour from start to finish (try closer to two) if you're going to boil and pick the chicken, which I do think is worth it. I would recommend prepping the chicken at some other time before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
these were so yummy!! however i did leave out the jalapeno cause my kids or husband don't like spicy stuff. with that said they did need a little more taste. i think next time i would add more garlic and some sauteed onions. but overall a great recipe. It really didn't take that long to make either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Just made this recipe today, I'm giving it a 5, which I suppose is "cheating" because I did a few things differently. Thanks to all the reviewers for the tips! I cooked the chicken the day before in my crockpot w. chicken broth, onions, garlic, 5 hours, then it easily shredded. As 2 of the 3 who would be eating this meal cannot tolerate much spice, I left out chiles & jalapeños. Also made the sauce last night, chopped up a little red bell pepper, white & green onions, 6 cloves of garlic, plus 1.5 tablespoons of a packet of taco seasoning while the cream cheese was melting. Had Mexican 4 Cheese shredded, so used that. By doing the sauce ahead of time, the flavors have a chance to really meld together. Today, I let everything get up to room temp before putting it together. Sprayed the dish and used red enchilada sauce to lightly coat the baking dish, then rolled everything in corn tortillas, drizzled more enchilada sauce on top along with Evaporated milk; baked 20 minutes covered in foil, 10 without the foil, then let sit for a few minutes. I served with Mexican rice, not homemade, will try that next time! We all agreed, even the spice loving one, that the level of spicy was perfect. We all had seconds and we have plenty left over! By the way, I baked these in my toaster oven, worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Enchiladas I

See how to make delicious chicken enchiladas the easy way!

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States