Whit's Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
To save time I bought cooked children. My family enjoyed these and asked me to make again. Easy and good. Used salsa when serving. To make a very rich and colorful dish, serve with guacamole,sour cream and salsa, but very good just with salsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Family loved this recipe! I was doubting the cream on top but the enchiladas came out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
These were pretty good. I cut down the shredded cheese and added some Velveeta with jalapeño to give them more kick. My husband said hey were too creamy. I added salsa and sour cream after they were cooked and they were much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
The thing I love about recipes like this one, is that they give me a base. I always do the recipe first, how it's written. Then I go back and check the reviews and see what others did. Finally, I make it mine. Maybe enchiladas or burritos this time but chimichangas the next or even taquitos or quesadillas. Between Whit, the suggestions and my ideas, this recipe and all the others are freakin awesome and make me a better cook!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This was a great recipe--packed with taste if not entirely authentic. I made it exactly as written with the exception of adding some green onion to the top while they cooked. We had red salsa and guac on the side, but personally, I liked them plain. Each enchilada is extremely hearty, so these 8 will last our family of two through the week. My only complaint is that it takes WAY longer than an hour from start to finish (try closer to two) if you're going to boil and pick the chicken, which I do think is worth it. I would recommend prepping the chicken at some other time before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
these were so yummy!! however i did leave out the jalapeno cause my kids or husband don't like spicy stuff. with that said they did need a little more taste. i think next time i would add more garlic and some sauteed onions. but overall a great recipe. It really didn't take that long to make either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Just made this recipe today, I'm giving it a 5, which I suppose is "cheating" because I did a few things differently. Thanks to all the reviewers for the tips! I cooked the chicken the day before in my crockpot w. chicken broth, onions, garlic, 5 hours, then it easily shredded. As 2 of the 3 who would be eating this meal cannot tolerate much spice, I left out chiles & jalapeños. Also made the sauce last night, chopped up a little red bell pepper, white & green onions, 6 cloves of garlic, plus 1.5 tablespoons of a packet of taco seasoning while the cream cheese was melting. Had Mexican 4 Cheese shredded, so used that. By doing the sauce ahead of time, the flavors have a chance to really meld together. Today, I let everything get up to room temp before putting it together. Sprayed the dish and used red enchilada sauce to lightly coat the baking dish, then rolled everything in corn tortillas, drizzled more enchilada sauce on top along with Evaporated milk; baked 20 minutes covered in foil, 10 without the foil, then let sit for a few minutes. I served with Mexican rice, not homemade, will try that next time! We all agreed, even the spice loving one, that the level of spicy was perfect. We all had seconds and we have plenty left over! By the way, I baked these in my toaster oven, worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe, restaurant quality. I did tweak a couple of things but it wasn't a significant tweak, just added about 1/2 cup of Carlita's mild enchilada sauce to the bottom of the baking dish before putting the enchiladas in there. I also warmed the cream in the microwave and dipped each tortilla in it separately just before filling them. The tortilla folds and holds together easier that way and I use less cream. I then poured the red enchilada sauce over the top... you could use green/verde if you wanted to. This is a very versatile recipe. I can only find Carlita's brand at Shoppers and normally we get the medium but they were out of it. Otherwise, and except for using low fat cream cheese, I kept everything else the same. It was delish and easier than most other recipes I've found for enchiladas! I served the Carlita's enchilada sauce on the side in case anyone wanted to use it. I should look for an enchilada sauce recipe on this site to use next time. The 10 inch toritillas are enormous, I think I could scale that down a bit to 8 inch and have slightly smaller enchiladas and more of them. Can't WAIT to have this as leftovers for lunch today. Served with Alan's Mom's Mexican Rice. Excellent recipe, will make this many more times, and thinking of having a margarita party this summer, I think I'll make these to go with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
made exactly as directed except I used a homemade enchilada sauce. This recipe is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Oh.My.Gosh. These are so easy and so delicious! I have a supper club at my house once a week and serve 12 people each time, and I seriously think they'd eat this every week if I'd make it for them! The changes I made are pretty insignificant. I used boneless skinless breasts (just for my own convenience) and eliminated the jalapeno to make sure everyone in the group could handle it. I substituted a healthy amount of green onion instead, and added a pinch or two of adobe seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 467) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States