Whitechapel Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
It was really good, I ground pork and beef and rinced the meat and I used garlic instant Potato, cause it has less starch, it turned out rally good'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This recipe made a quick, cheap meal that fed four people. To speed things up a bit, I used a frozen peas/carrots mix instead of fresh carrots and parsnips. I also used ground turkey instead of ground lamb. Be sure to use enough milk that the mashed potatoes are slightly runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
We loved this sheperds pie. The rutabegas and parsnips really added a great flavor to this pie. I did make garlic mashed potatos to go on top and used ground beef instead of lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I made this for my husband and we both loved it! I would recommend cooking the vegetable seperately since the rutubaga needs more time to cook and the other vegetables need less. I didn't pre-cook the peas at all and just added the frozen peas directly to the meat along with the other vegetables. I also would use a 15 oz. can of tomato sauce rather than 8 oz. because it didn't seem saucy enough (I added some left over pasta sauce we had in the fridge and it worked great). For the potatoes I used a whole package of the frozen Ore Ida steam and mash potatoes and they worked great :) Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Very good, I will use real potatoe next time, this time I used instant just because i was pressed for time...I don't know how I feel about the rutabaga, it tasted so good but I have never cooked with them before and had a lot of trouble cutting it, lol...It was super good though!Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamidee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brogie
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I loved this. I was home sick with a cold and didn't want to go shopping so I did have to improvise. I didn't have parsnip or rutabaga, I did have a good lb of mushrooms, I cooked them separately in olive oil with garlic. I added them to the vegetables before baking after draining them. I didn't have sage, I did add a bit of cinnamon. I used both sweet and regular potatoes. I used beef instead of lamb. There is way more then 4 servings. 6 conservatively. VERY good, I also added chopped chives to the mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This was very good! I substituted the following:I used about 1/2 small bag of baby carrots,leftover sliced mushrooms for the parsnip and rutabaga. Instead of frozen peas, I added a small can of peas to the beef mixture. I also used a 16 oz can of tomato sauce. Easy to make and quick to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I actually substituted Ground beef for the lamb and used frozen peas with pearl onions and added a small can of portabella mushrooms as well as twice the tomato sauce. Wow!!! It's wonderful and easy to make. It will become a regular at our house, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This worked out really well. I made the potatoes from scratch and didn't have the rutabaga, but everything else was great. I agree with the other reviewers that one more can of tomato sauce should be added to the recipe. The Parmesan cheese is the key here -- I would say the more the merrier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
After a few modifications this recipe turned out wonderfully! I used instant garlic mashed potatoes to save time. I didn’t use any rutabaga, but added a whole can of early peas, doubled the parsnips, and added a can of mushrooms. I also used a 15oz can of tomato sauce. I’ll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States