Whitechapel Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
My main comment here is: WHY do people think that "prepared" mashed potatoes means "instant?" It would state instant or boxed, right? So you prepare your regular mashed potatoes for the recipe! This was a very good dish. I didn't have celery or parsnip; but would throw them in if I did, no biggie. In my opinion tomato sauce detracts from the end result, and I never use it. I also opted for worcestershire sauce instead of sage or thyme, again just personal preference. And I have no problem substituting any ground meat on hand for the lamb. Very tasty recipe that you can tweak to your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Wonderful. I had some leftover mashed potatoes with rutabagas and that gave me the incentive to try this recipe. I did not have peas, so I used edamame, and I can't eat lamb(but love it) so I used ground turkey. Very tasty! I would make this again-hubby and I ate this two nights in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy55

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethpage, New York, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Yum! Everyone at the table wanted seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
A great cottage pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckiewhomp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Super yum. Made mashed potatoes with a mix of russet and sweet potatoes -- awesome dish! I doubled recipe and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Made it with half lamb and half beef. I was afraid all lamb would be too strong. Added extra tomato sauce as suggested. Cooked the parsnip and rutabaga in a separate pot for 15 minutes as suggested. Having never eaten these I was a bit nervous about using them for a dinner party, but they were good. Made the potatoes a little runny as someone suggested, but do not recommend this. I probably used more than 3 cups of mashed potatoes. It's a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
be generous with the amount of mashed potatoes you put on top...i did not use enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I used Irish cheddar instead of Parmesan, and mixed it in with the potatoes. I also added a small amount of fennel seed, and that really made the dish pop. It looks and smells very nice, and was a big success at the table. A keeper recipe, and quite affordable. Having a food processor makes it easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Curious - why do so many people substitute beef for lamb? It is called shepherd's pie for a reason. Look for Cottage pie recipes if you want to use beef. I like the modern method of using fresh ground lamb as most of us don't cook a roast so don't have the leftovers to grind for making this later in the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Penetanguishene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was good, but it bears repeating that this dish is only going to be as savory as the spices you use to flavor it. I used garlic powder liberally, as well as onion powder and about 1/2 tsp. of Old Bay. I also added a little soy sauce, dry mustard (NOT the same as prepared mustard), chili sauce and a TB of brown sugar to the beef and I let the meat sit overnite in the fridge so the spices could really meld together. To the beef and veggies mixture I added some of the starch water drained from the taters and I topped it with cheddar, as Parmesan is just too bland to put on top of such a hearty dish. I'll definitely make this again - it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Senator

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States