Whitechapel Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Brogie
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I loved this. I was home sick with a cold and didn't want to go shopping so I did have to improvise. I didn't have parsnip or rutabaga, I did have a good lb of mushrooms, I cooked them separately in olive oil with garlic. I added them to the vegetables before baking after draining them. I didn't have sage, I did add a bit of cinnamon. I used both sweet and regular potatoes. I used beef instead of lamb. There is way more then 4 servings. 6 conservatively. VERY good, I also added chopped chives to the mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
My first attempt making Shepherd's Pie; total success!!! Omitted peas, substituted ground turkey for lamb. A few other tweaks, but overall a really awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I actually substituted Ground beef for the lamb and used frozen peas with pearl onions and added a small can of portabella mushrooms as well as twice the tomato sauce. Wow!!! It's wonderful and easy to make. It will become a regular at our house, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I'm not a fan of lamb so we used buffalo/bison. This is one of our new, easy, yet so flavorful favorites! We could easily eat this every week. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe as did my mother and father. I baked the pie in a 13x9 pan. I used hamburger in place of ground lamb. I think it would also be good with deer burger. The "with meat" review is based on the feedback of 3 family members. I also made a small dish without meat for myself, and I review that at the bottom of this post. The pie is very filling, so I gave some of the pie to my mom and kept some of it for my husband and myself. All told, we got four (2 person) meals out of it. It also freezes well. I'm making it again tonight, and my mother requested the recipe. You do taste the rutabagas alot, as I was hoping. It's a bit of a strange taste if you've never had them, but they are very good. (I had a rutabaga sandwich in London, but since I couldn't find a recipe for that, I decided on the Whitechapel pie.) I highly recommend this recipe as it is good for you, filling, rather cheap to make, and freezes well. It takes some time to cut up all the vegetables, but the result is well worth it. VEGETARIANS: the recipe is great with soy "burger" crumbles. I've made it that way several times now, and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithsburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
We loved this sheperds pie. The rutabegas and parsnips really added a great flavor to this pie. I did make garlic mashed potatos to go on top and used ground beef instead of lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I made this for my husband and we both loved it! I would recommend cooking the vegetable seperately since the rutubaga needs more time to cook and the other vegetables need less. I didn't pre-cook the peas at all and just added the frozen peas directly to the meat along with the other vegetables. I also would use a 15 oz. can of tomato sauce rather than 8 oz. because it didn't seem saucy enough (I added some left over pasta sauce we had in the fridge and it worked great). For the potatoes I used a whole package of the frozen Ore Ida steam and mash potatoes and they worked great :) Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I am an Australian living in America & wanted to try a recipe I grew up eating. This was absolutely perfect! Tasted just like my Mum's. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Really good! My eight year old daughter ate a third helping. I didn't mention that it contained lamb, parsnips and rutabagas (any mention of these would make her turn up her nose). I followed the recipe closely, but used store bought prepared mashed potatoes which I thinned with a little milk and added cheese. I made it a few days ahead and popped it in the oven covered in foil at around 300 degrees for almost 2 hours (I had to leave the house for a bit). When I came home it was hot and bubbly, I just took of the foil to let the potatoes get a little crisp on top. I think letting it cook slowly really let the flavors come together. Great comfort food for a cold January MN night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I've made it several times now as per the recipe and wouldn't change a thing! Very tasty! ETA. I've read several reviews that interpreted "prepared mashed potatoes" as boxed. I assumed it meant already prepared from scratch, which is what I did every time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States