Whitechapel Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I made this for my husband and we both loved it! I would recommend cooking the vegetable seperately since the rutubaga needs more time to cook and the other vegetables need less. I didn't pre-cook the peas at all and just added the frozen peas directly to the meat along with the other vegetables. I also would use a 15 oz. can of tomato sauce rather than 8 oz. because it didn't seem saucy enough (I added some left over pasta sauce we had in the fridge and it worked great). For the potatoes I used a whole package of the frozen Ore Ida steam and mash potatoes and they worked great :) Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This recipe made a quick, cheap meal that fed four people. To speed things up a bit, I used a frozen peas/carrots mix instead of fresh carrots and parsnips. I also used ground turkey instead of ground lamb. Be sure to use enough milk that the mashed potatoes are slightly runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I have been looking for a traditional version of Shepherd's Pie- this one was the closest I found. I used all the named ingredients, but I prepared them a little differently. After I browned the lamb, I took it out and drained it. Lots of fat. :) Then, in the pan I browned the lamb in, I added about 1/2 c white wine and threw in the other vegetable ingredients to cook through. I ended up adding about 1 cup of chicken stock as things progressed. I didn't want things dried up and I wanted a stew like consistency underneath the potato topping. I also went very heavy on the thyme, as the absolute best Shepherd's Pie I have ever tasted was at O'Lourdan's in Westminster and I racked my brain for days before identifying the most distinctive flavor as the lamb combined with thyme. I hate to be second guessing the original cook, but my question is, "Why, after going through all this to make an authentic SP, would one use instant, or prepared mashed potatoes?" I chose to do homemade, as have some others. The results were most astounding. And, if O'Lourdan's is in the least authentic, we got pretty close here. Thanks for a GREAT base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLHSCHNEIDER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chinhae, Kyongsang-Namdo, South Korea
Living In: Myersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe as did my mother and father. I baked the pie in a 13x9 pan. I used hamburger in place of ground lamb. I think it would also be good with deer burger. The "with meat" review is based on the feedback of 3 family members. I also made a small dish without meat for myself, and I review that at the bottom of this post. The pie is very filling, so I gave some of the pie to my mom and kept some of it for my husband and myself. All told, we got four (2 person) meals out of it. It also freezes well. I'm making it again tonight, and my mother requested the recipe. You do taste the rutabagas alot, as I was hoping. It's a bit of a strange taste if you've never had them, but they are very good. (I had a rutabaga sandwich in London, but since I couldn't find a recipe for that, I decided on the Whitechapel pie.) I highly recommend this recipe as it is good for you, filling, rather cheap to make, and freezes well. It takes some time to cut up all the vegetables, but the result is well worth it. VEGETARIANS: the recipe is great with soy "burger" crumbles. I've made it that way several times now, and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithsburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
It was really good, I ground pork and beef and rinced the meat and I used garlic instant Potato, cause it has less starch, it turned out rally good'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I actually substituted Ground beef for the lamb and used frozen peas with pearl onions and added a small can of portabella mushrooms as well as twice the tomato sauce. Wow!!! It's wonderful and easy to make. It will become a regular at our house, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Curious - why do so many people substitute beef for lamb? It is called shepherd's pie for a reason. Look for Cottage pie recipes if you want to use beef. I like the modern method of using fresh ground lamb as most of us don't cook a roast so don't have the leftovers to grind for making this later in the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Penetanguishene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
We loved this sheperds pie. The rutabegas and parsnips really added a great flavor to this pie. I did make garlic mashed potatos to go on top and used ground beef instead of lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Made it with half lamb and half beef. I was afraid all lamb would be too strong. Added extra tomato sauce as suggested. Cooked the parsnip and rutabaga in a separate pot for 15 minutes as suggested. Having never eaten these I was a bit nervous about using them for a dinner party, but they were good. Made the potatoes a little runny as someone suggested, but do not recommend this. I probably used more than 3 cups of mashed potatoes. It's a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
be generous with the amount of mashed potatoes you put on top...i did not use enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States