Whitechapel Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
It was really good, I ground pork and beef and rinced the meat and I used garlic instant Potato, cause it has less starch, it turned out rally good'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This recipe made a quick, cheap meal that fed four people. To speed things up a bit, I used a frozen peas/carrots mix instead of fresh carrots and parsnips. I also used ground turkey instead of ground lamb. Be sure to use enough milk that the mashed potatoes are slightly runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
We loved this sheperds pie. The rutabegas and parsnips really added a great flavor to this pie. I did make garlic mashed potatos to go on top and used ground beef instead of lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I made this for my husband and we both loved it! I would recommend cooking the vegetable seperately since the rutubaga needs more time to cook and the other vegetables need less. I didn't pre-cook the peas at all and just added the frozen peas directly to the meat along with the other vegetables. I also would use a 15 oz. can of tomato sauce rather than 8 oz. because it didn't seem saucy enough (I added some left over pasta sauce we had in the fridge and it worked great). For the potatoes I used a whole package of the frozen Ore Ida steam and mash potatoes and they worked great :) Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Very good, I will use real potatoe next time, this time I used instant just because i was pressed for time...I don't know how I feel about the rutabaga, it tasted so good but I have never cooked with them before and had a lot of trouble cutting it, lol...It was super good though!Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamidee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brogie
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I loved this. I was home sick with a cold and didn't want to go shopping so I did have to improvise. I didn't have parsnip or rutabaga, I did have a good lb of mushrooms, I cooked them separately in olive oil with garlic. I added them to the vegetables before baking after draining them. I didn't have sage, I did add a bit of cinnamon. I used both sweet and regular potatoes. I used beef instead of lamb. There is way more then 4 servings. 6 conservatively. VERY good, I also added chopped chives to the mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This was very good! I substituted the following:I used about 1/2 small bag of baby carrots,leftover sliced mushrooms for the parsnip and rutabaga. Instead of frozen peas, I added a small can of peas to the beef mixture. I also used a 16 oz can of tomato sauce. Easy to make and quick to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I actually substituted Ground beef for the lamb and used frozen peas with pearl onions and added a small can of portabella mushrooms as well as twice the tomato sauce. Wow!!! It's wonderful and easy to make. It will become a regular at our house, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This worked out really well. I made the potatoes from scratch and didn't have the rutabaga, but everything else was great. I agree with the other reviewers that one more can of tomato sauce should be added to the recipe. The Parmesan cheese is the key here -- I would say the more the merrier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
After a few modifications this recipe turned out wonderfully! I used instant garlic mashed potatoes to save time. I didn’t use any rutabaga, but added a whole can of early peas, doubled the parsnips, and added a can of mushrooms. I also used a 15oz can of tomato sauce. I’ll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States