Whitechapel Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
One of the better shephers's pie that I have tried. Used my leftover lamb, cut it into cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I keep trying to get the family to like shepherds pie and it never works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Excellent! SOOOOOO TASTY! I left out the parsnip, used beef instead of lamb and made garlic mashed potatoes. It was the best shepards pie I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessielee1389

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I use this as the base recipe for my shepherd's pie. It is delicious and a great and easy winter/fall food staple using things you often have in your house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I've made it several times now as per the recipe and wouldn't change a thing! Very tasty! ETA. I've read several reviews that interpreted "prepared mashed potatoes" as boxed. I assumed it meant already prepared from scratch, which is what I did every time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I have been looking for a traditional version of Shepherd's Pie- this one was the closest I found. I used all the named ingredients, but I prepared them a little differently. After I browned the lamb, I took it out and drained it. Lots of fat. :) Then, in the pan I browned the lamb in, I added about 1/2 c white wine and threw in the other vegetable ingredients to cook through. I ended up adding about 1 cup of chicken stock as things progressed. I didn't want things dried up and I wanted a stew like consistency underneath the potato topping. I also went very heavy on the thyme, as the absolute best Shepherd's Pie I have ever tasted was at O'Lourdan's in Westminster and I racked my brain for days before identifying the most distinctive flavor as the lamb combined with thyme. I hate to be second guessing the original cook, but my question is, "Why, after going through all this to make an authentic SP, would one use instant, or prepared mashed potatoes?" I chose to do homemade, as have some others. The results were most astounding. And, if O'Lourdan's is in the least authentic, we got pretty close here. Thanks for a GREAT base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLHSCHNEIDER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chinhae, Kyongsang-Namdo, South Korea
Living In: Myersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This is a good basic comfort food meal. I used ground beef instead of the lamb, and like many other reviewers, I doubled the tomato sauce and probably could have used more. The filling was quite good, but I really regret using boxed mashed potatoes on top. I haven't made boxed potatoes in a long time and they just didn't taste that great to me (little flavor, watered down), especially with all the milk to thin them out a bit. I tried to salvage them with more seasoning, but oh well. Luckily the rest was good enough to cover them up a bit. But with all the pans on the stove (three pans and a casserole dish all said and done) I don't know if I'd want to take the effort to make them from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
A hearty meal and makes great left overs. This was my first time cooking with rutabaga and think I put in too much. It is very strong and over powered the other veggies. I took another reviewer's suggestion and used the larger can of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MathScem

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Really good! My eight year old daughter ate a third helping. I didn't mention that it contained lamb, parsnips and rutabagas (any mention of these would make her turn up her nose). I followed the recipe closely, but used store bought prepared mashed potatoes which I thinned with a little milk and added cheese. I made it a few days ahead and popped it in the oven covered in foil at around 300 degrees for almost 2 hours (I had to leave the house for a bit). When I came home it was hot and bubbly, I just took of the foil to let the potatoes get a little crisp on top. I think letting it cook slowly really let the flavors come together. Great comfort food for a cold January MN night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Simple to make & delicious. I used ground beef but I can't wait to try it with lamb! I also used about 13 oz of tomato sauce to insure moistness. Leftovers eat wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States