Whitechapel Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I used Irish cheddar instead of Parmesan, and mixed it in with the potatoes. I also added a small amount of fennel seed, and that really made the dish pop. It looks and smells very nice, and was a big success at the table. A keeper recipe, and quite affordable. Having a food processor makes it easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Curious - why do so many people substitute beef for lamb? It is called shepherd's pie for a reason. Look for Cottage pie recipes if you want to use beef. I like the modern method of using fresh ground lamb as most of us don't cook a roast so don't have the leftovers to grind for making this later in the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Penetanguishene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was good, but it bears repeating that this dish is only going to be as savory as the spices you use to flavor it. I used garlic powder liberally, as well as onion powder and about 1/2 tsp. of Old Bay. I also added a little soy sauce, dry mustard (NOT the same as prepared mustard), chili sauce and a TB of brown sugar to the beef and I let the meat sit overnite in the fridge so the spices could really meld together. To the beef and veggies mixture I added some of the starch water drained from the taters and I topped it with cheddar, as Parmesan is just too bland to put on top of such a hearty dish. I'll definitely make this again - it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Senator
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I like Shepherd's Pie with a crust on the bottom and sides; if you don't want to make you own, buy the refrigerated Pillsbury crusts - they're great and easy to use. Then just line the baking pan/pot before putting the other ingredients in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jozelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I made this for my boyfriend and some friends and they all loved it! I have to say the leftovers are almost better than the original. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlet326

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Good comfort food, but not an especially memorable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NickSeam
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I pretty much followed the recipe exactly, except I used beef instead of lamb and I forgot to add sage and thyme, it still came out great but it probably could have been better. I used homemade mashed potatoes as opposed to prepared, because they are super easy to make and I can control what's in them. I've never had rutabaga or parsnips before (one of the reasons I chose this recipe) and I found that I quite like them. Here's to expanding horizons, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I forgot to put in the peas but it was EXCELLENT! I cooked the rutabaga & parsnip a little longer than the carrots and celery as recommended by some others. Highly recommended. Don't substitute other meat, the lamb was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I thought it was pretty good, everyone ate it with no complaints but I'd have to say I am more of a gravy type sauce rather than the tomato base one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
One of the better shephers's pie that I have tried. Used my leftover lamb, cut it into cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States