Whitechapel Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Now this takes more time but is delicious. Boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Old Forge, New York, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I tried this recipe and my family loved it. I didn't have a parsnip, but next time I'll try it with that. I added some sharp cheddar to the top before cooking....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This was good but there was way too much rutabaga. I would definitely not use a whole one. It also took longer than 15 minutes to get soft. Other than that, this is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Fantastic version of shepherd's pie. The ground lamb gave it great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Hettlinger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This was a very good dish. I didn't have celery or parsnip; but would throw them in if I did, no biggie. In my opinion tomato sauce detracts from the end result, and I never use it. I also opted for worcestershire sauce instead of sage or thyme, again just personal preference. And I have no problem substituting any ground meat on hand for the lamb. Very tasty recipe that you can tweak to your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Wonderful. I had some leftover mashed potatoes with rutabagas and that gave me the incentive to try this recipe. I did not have peas, so I used edamame, and I can't eat lamb(but love it) so I used ground turkey. Very tasty! I would make this again-hubby and I ate this two nights in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy55

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethpage, New York, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Yum! Everyone at the table wanted seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
A great cottage pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckiewhomp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Super yum. Made mashed potatoes with a mix of russet and sweet potatoes -- awesome dish! I doubled recipe and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Made it with half lamb and half beef. I was afraid all lamb would be too strong. Added extra tomato sauce as suggested. Cooked the parsnip and rutabaga in a separate pot for 15 minutes as suggested. Having never eaten these I was a bit nervous about using them for a dinner party, but they were good. Made the potatoes a little runny as someone suggested, but do not recommend this. I probably used more than 3 cups of mashed potatoes. It's a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States