Whitechapel Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Wonderful. I had some leftover mashed potatoes with rutabagas and that gave me the incentive to try this recipe. I did not have peas, so I used edamame, and I can't eat lamb(but love it) so I used ground turkey. Very tasty! I would make this again-hubby and I ate this two nights in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy55

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethpage, New York, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Yum! Everyone at the table wanted seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
A great cottage pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckiewhomp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Super yum. Made mashed potatoes with a mix of russet and sweet potatoes -- awesome dish! I doubled recipe and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Made it with half lamb and half beef. I was afraid all lamb would be too strong. Added extra tomato sauce as suggested. Cooked the parsnip and rutabaga in a separate pot for 15 minutes as suggested. Having never eaten these I was a bit nervous about using them for a dinner party, but they were good. Made the potatoes a little runny as someone suggested, but do not recommend this. I probably used more than 3 cups of mashed potatoes. It's a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
be generous with the amount of mashed potatoes you put on top...i did not use enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I used Irish cheddar instead of Parmesan, and mixed it in with the potatoes. I also added a small amount of fennel seed, and that really made the dish pop. It looks and smells very nice, and was a big success at the table. A keeper recipe, and quite affordable. Having a food processor makes it easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Curious - why do so many people substitute beef for lamb? It is called shepherd's pie for a reason. Look for Cottage pie recipes if you want to use beef. I like the modern method of using fresh ground lamb as most of us don't cook a roast so don't have the leftovers to grind for making this later in the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Penetanguishene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was good, but it bears repeating that this dish is only going to be as savory as the spices you use to flavor it. I used garlic powder liberally, as well as onion powder and about 1/2 tsp. of Old Bay. I also added a little soy sauce, dry mustard (NOT the same as prepared mustard), chili sauce and a TB of brown sugar to the beef and I let the meat sit overnite in the fridge so the spices could really meld together. To the beef and veggies mixture I added some of the starch water drained from the taters and I topped it with cheddar, as Parmesan is just too bland to put on top of such a hearty dish. I'll definitely make this again - it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Senator
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I like Shepherd's Pie with a crust on the bottom and sides; if you don't want to make you own, buy the refrigerated Pillsbury crusts - they're great and easy to use. Then just line the baking pan/pot before putting the other ingredients in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jozelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States