White Yeast Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is very good bread with easy to follow directions.We love it. Lorraine and James Spaulding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I love this recipe! It does seem to take awhile with all the rising but it's definitely worth it! I cut this recipe in half to make only one loaf, comes out perfect and the taste of this bread is awesome! I'm making another loaf right now, I'm in between one of the risings:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Navarre, Ohio, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Love this recipe! Husband has been eating all of the bread I have been making but he says this one is the most like his grandma's bread! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Approximately 40 years ago I use to make a white bread recipe that was absolutely delicious. I lost the recipe and have by comparison been disappointed in every white bread recipe I tried.....until now. This is it!! Thank you so much RobBob for putting this old recipe out there. It is a winner!! I used King Arthur AP flour, lard instead of shortening, and SAF red instant yeast which doesn't need to be proofed, so I added 1/2 cup water to the milk. Put everything in my bread machine on dough cycle. Took it out after the first rise, plopped it into a bowl for the second rise, and into my bread pans for last rise. Perfect and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Honing my break making skills and trying lots of different recipes. This, by far, resulted in my greatest loaves. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I was looking for an easy, basic bread recipe to make hot dogs wrapped in bread. This one fit the bill perfectly. The bread was very easy to make, it turned out perfectly (even though I used margarine instead of shortening).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Since the weather is starting to cool off, I got a wild idea that it was time to try my hand at baking bread. All I can say is WOW! I am apparently a fabulous baker...or more accurately this recipe is not only easy to follow but fantastic as well. The steps are clear and easy to follow. The only changes I made were using butter instead of shortening (I don't keep it in my house) and using only 1/4 cup of sugar. I decided to share 1/2 a loaf with my parents to get an honest opinion (yes, my mother will tell it like it is and not sugar-coat it) and I got a call this morning asking if I was taking orders because she wanted two more loaves because she couldn't stop eating it. Don't be scared by the number of steps and the length of each because it really is very easy, just takes a while to complete but WELL worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
i have several recipes for white bread but this one is by far the best so far! Love the flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libby, Montana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Finally a recipe like my Dad used to make when I was a kid. Real milk, real egg, yeast! Healthy bread!. It was so yummy, thank you. It tasted and smelled like real bread, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thornywaffles
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Thank you SO much!! I love baking but bread has always been my nemesis, I could create Italian and Spanish inspired wonders but the secret to regular bread had eluded me for nearly a year. This recipe has changed everything! It turned out amazing, it has a nice flaky crust with a beautiful savoury, buttery flavour. I halved the recipe, used butter instead of shortening, and for fear of lack of flavour added 1/2 tsp of salt. This baker is very happy, thanks for giving me confidence with bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thornywaffles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nekoosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: York, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States