White Yeast Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This bread is fantastic! The first loaf didn't last more than a couple hours, everybody ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I used pear sauce instead of butter. Just used a tablespoon of butter and used half whole wheat flour but the loaf in the end was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
O M G! I'm not really a fan of 'white' bread but made this thinking to use it for homemade Panko bread crumbs. Well, I ended up eating the bread! Yum YUM! I did 1/2 the recipe and used lard vs shortening. Man, I'm making the whole recipe next time...it's that good! I did decrease the sugar a bit and glad I did, it was plenty sweet. I could barely contain the dough it was rising so fast but that's okay. I like the 3 rise method but I think when I go with full recipe I'll use only 1 package of yeast. I'm sure that will be plenty. Anyway...was soooooo good with fresh egg salad or sliced while still warm w/some butter. I may attempt to replace 1 C of white with wheat flour but no more than that. I don't want it to become heavy. Thanks for this recipe...I LOVE IT! Oh, I did add a T of fresh chopped rosemary and I feel you could turn this into any herb flavored bread of your liking. I'm sure this would make awesome dinner rolls or dough for cinnamon rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Excellent!! One of best breads I have made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOUSETAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I rarely rate recipes, because I am often dissapointed in even highly rated recipes, but if I could give this more stars, I would! This is absolutely the best white bread I have ever made or eaten. My husband loved it as well, and he is strictly a store-bought white bread boy. ONLY change I made was to substitute butter for the shortening, and added another teaspoon of sugar. The bread baked up beautifully, had a wonderful fine texture, was very soft and, most importantly, was delicious. I will make this regularly from now on. Thanks so much for this great recipe; I've tossed all my other white bread recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe but I only needed one loaf of bread so I reduced the original recipe to half so 10 for US measurement rather than 20 as the recipe suggests. I used butter instead of shortening and for the flour, I only used about 2 1/2 cups. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Absolutely the best bread recipe I have ever tried. I did use butter instead of shortening. I did make rolls instead of a loaf...they melted in my mouth. I will throw away all my old bread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NWBARB
Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Easton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Very good white bread. Very soft. Really easy to work with. I did use butter instead of shortening since that is what I had on hand, also used AP flour. My family loved it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Very good! I used my kitchen aid. Used 6 1/2 cups of flour, hand kneading in the last 1/2 c. in. My loaves got a little too brown but that was my fault for baking about 40 min and not checking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I bake bread for Communion and this is perfect for what is needed. Takes time but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States