White Yeast Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Finally a recipe like my Dad used to make when I was a kid. Real milk, real egg, yeast! Healthy bread!. It was so yummy, thank you. It tasted and smelled like real bread, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thornywaffles
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Thank you SO much!! I love baking but bread has always been my nemesis, I could create Italian and Spanish inspired wonders but the secret to regular bread had eluded me for nearly a year. This recipe has changed everything! It turned out amazing, it has a nice flaky crust with a beautiful savoury, buttery flavour. I halved the recipe, used butter instead of shortening, and for fear of lack of flavour added 1/2 tsp of salt. This baker is very happy, thanks for giving me confidence with bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thornywaffles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nekoosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: York, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This is the best yet, I tend to try all the breads and this one is the best! Takes some time but love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Falls, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This bread is fantastic! The first loaf didn't last more than a couple hours, everybody ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I used pear sauce instead of butter. Just used a tablespoon of butter and used half whole wheat flour but the loaf in the end was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
O M G! I'm not really a fan of 'white' bread but made this thinking to use it for homemade Panko bread crumbs. Well, I ended up eating the bread! Yum YUM! I did 1/2 the recipe and used lard vs shortening. Man, I'm making the whole recipe next time...it's that good! I did decrease the sugar a bit and glad I did, it was plenty sweet. I could barely contain the dough it was rising so fast but that's okay. I like the 3 rise method but I think when I go with full recipe I'll use only 1 package of yeast. I'm sure that will be plenty. Anyway...was soooooo good with fresh egg salad or sliced while still warm w/some butter. I may attempt to replace 1 C of white with wheat flour but no more than that. I don't want it to become heavy. Thanks for this recipe...I LOVE IT! Oh, I did add a T of fresh chopped rosemary and I feel you could turn this into any herb flavored bread of your liking. I'm sure this would make awesome dinner rolls or dough for cinnamon rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Excellent!! One of best breads I have made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOUSETAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I rarely rate recipes, because I am often dissapointed in even highly rated recipes, but if I could give this more stars, I would! This is absolutely the best white bread I have ever made or eaten. My husband loved it as well, and he is strictly a store-bought white bread boy. ONLY change I made was to substitute butter for the shortening, and added another teaspoon of sugar. The bread baked up beautifully, had a wonderful fine texture, was very soft and, most importantly, was delicious. I will make this regularly from now on. Thanks so much for this great recipe; I've tossed all my other white bread recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe but I only needed one loaf of bread so I reduced the original recipe to half so 10 for US measurement rather than 20 as the recipe suggests. I used butter instead of shortening and for the flour, I only used about 2 1/2 cups. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Absolutely the best bread recipe I have ever tried. I did use butter instead of shortening. I did make rolls instead of a loaf...they melted in my mouth. I will throw away all my old bread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NWBARB
Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Easton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States