White Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
I made this cake for my parents' 25th wedding anniversary party and everyone loved it. I didn't have orange extract on hand, so I used almond and vanilla instead; it was wonderful. I will be using this recipe a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2000
Thanks Carol for this wonderful recipe. I made this wedding cake recipe for a wedding celebration for one of my co-workers. Everyone raved about it. They liked that it was a very traditional wedding cake. If you are old enough to have gotten white wedding cake in a cardboard box to take home from a wedding then you know what I am talking about. The cake is dense yet moist. It was very easy to cut to create the tiers. I used non-melting wax paper instead of parchment paper since I couldn't find parchment paper - it worked fine. I wouldn't call this cake "plain" but rather elegant and simple, it has a very slight fruity taste to it. I recommend you buy the shortening (Crisco) that is not butter flavored to keep the cake very white. I also made the ornamental icing, but did have to add a bit more cream to get it smooth enough. You definitely need to use a large mixer rather than a hand-held to mix the frosting. The ornamental icing recipe frosted the cake, decorated it, and still plenty was left over. My friend decorated it and the cake looked gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I used this recipe for my best friend's wedding after trying two others. It is WONDERFUL! Maybe those that said it was dry over whipped their egg whites because I did not find that to be the case with my cake. I did have to double the recipe to produce thick enough layers with a 12", 8", and 5" round pans. We did fill the layers with strawberry and lemon fillings and that did help with the moistness. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Louisville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
OK, I have baked for over 30 years and this is simply the most delicious wedding cake! Yes, it is more like a pound cake, but most folks like that. We live in China, and I had to bake it in an impossible tiny oven and it still was moist and delicious!!! Only one problem-there is no way that 3 tiers of 5, 8, and 10 inches add up to 150 servings. DO the math! Most cake pages will tell you that at the most an 8 and a 10 inch put togther will give you 30 servings, add the 5 inch layer and I am mystified that you get to 150 servings. Perhaps if you make 4 of them! I used the 150 serving recipe to make 2 9x13s, with 32 servings each (about a 2x2),but you could stretch that to 48 each for a total of 96 servings-max! And that would be a very tiny serving. Why would you want to serve a postage stamp slice of this delicious cake? I read the other reviews but was puzzled that no one else commented on the portions being wrong. Would love to see how anyone got 150 servings out of this. Liz May
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Recipe servings have been modified from 150 servings to 50 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
This is perfect I was searching for a cake for my wedding my search is over this cake is perfect who could ask for anything more. Those that found fault with this recipe must have done something wrong. I followed exactly its plenty moist actually a very light cake. Thanks for the recipe its a winner. Bobby
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
This cake is wonderful! I used this recipe to make my first ever wedding cake. I made a 3 tier cake (12" bottom, 9" middle, 6" top) with 3 - 1 inch layers for each tier. I tripled the recipe and used an additional 2/3 of a recipe. You could probably cut it down to 3 recipes total and be fine because I ended up cutting quite a bit off the tops. It is a little dry, but the frosting moistens it. I did a practice run with the recipe and didn't use the almond extract. The cake was too tart. It is perfect with the orange and almond extract combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I got so many compliments with this cake! I used vanilla extract instead of the orange. I also didn't make a tier cake. I used one batch to make a dozen cupcakes, one character pan, and one double layer 6" cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I think this cake is wonderful. I'm sorry to say but, those of you who had a problem did something wrong. I've made it several times and have had fabulous results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Okay all, I made this cake for my son's wedding. I loved it and received so many compliments. You do have to follow the directions to the letter, except I also used the vanilla and almond extracts. This cake is like an angel food cake but more dense. So all of you that tried it and failed try it again, I promise you will love it. This cake does take time and it does need to be refrigerated overnight before you eat it, so if you can't do these two things then try an easier cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States