White Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
If you read the reviews comparing this to "sweet cornbread," be warned: They weren't joking in the slightest. Don't waste your time on this recipe unless you actually want a recipe for cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Very nice flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarot Witch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
As a trained chef in the field I have to say this recipe dissapointed me. I made it today for a mothers day dessert and found out the cake flavor is good it is not moist, too dry crumbles easily hardto frost and layer with fondant. I honestly would not recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dennis372006

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bradley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Christopher, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I loved this cake. The only thing I would change is the orange extract for vanilla but other wise it was easy and tasted great. I covered it with fondant with no problem, it was very sturdy but moist as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I wish I had read the reviews! Almost has the texture of cornbread. Very disappointing, don't waste your time, effort or money on this recipe! DOES NOT DESERVE 1 STAR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This wedding cake was absolutely wonderful! It was perfectly moist and the density was perfect for covering with fondant. The only change I made was to use coconut extract instead of the orange. This recipe will be used for my wedding cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
The recipe was pretty easy to follow, but it didn't turn out as light and moist as I was hoping. It was rather dense and dry, more like a pound cake. I think this would be useful if you needed something strong for making tiers, but otherwise the texture is not great, however the flavour was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This recipe tasted very blah and it was way too dense for the light white wedding cake I was going for. It was pretty bad. I started with another recipe. Don't bother with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by three-peas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nobody'sGirl
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Mundane. Not a particularly bad cake, but not extraordinary. I scaled to 13 servings and it was perfect for a single 8 inch round cake. It didn't fall, the crumb was tender and the extracts were nice. However, it tasted flour-y and was quite dense. To me, it is an ordinary white cake, exactly the same as any home cook would whip up (and probably with less fuss). I will continue looking. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I tried this recipe for my 6 year wedding anniversary because our wedding cake was horrible and so was this one it isn't a white cake and it is like a southern pound cake and I wanted a wedding cake not a pound cake I want recommend this recipe nothing to remember our special again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States