White Velvet Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
These are delicious! A favorite when my son and I make cutouts to decorate. We love them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This is one of the best sugar cookie recipes I've ever made. Many sugar cookie cut-outs that I've tried end up tasting pretty bland, but these have a wonderfully rich flavor from the cream cheese that makes all the difference in the world. If I don't want to mess with the precision of frosting, I often just glaze them with a mixture of confectioner's sugar, a splash of corn syrup, and enough milk to make it spreadable. Gets rave reviews every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
What a great flavorful cookie. This sure is a keeper. I've made dozens of them and get so many compliments. Tx for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
These were the best sugar cookies I have ever made! Much like the shortbread cookies from panera bread. I used them for christmas cookies. but I didn't even frost them. Still have a batch in my fridge to use. Definately refridgerate for at least 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
Very good, maybe a little bland, but better than most recipies I've tried. My daughter loves them, so who am I to nit-pick..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
An excellent cookie! The cream cheese adds wonderful flavor and makes my tried-and-true sugar cookie recipe seem bland in comparison. I felt that 12 mins. was too long to bake them, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
I make these every year with my children at the request of my entire family. I suggest rolling them out with a mixture of 1/2 flour and 1/2 powdered sugar for best results. The frosting recipe that goes with these is as follows: 3 1/2 c. conf. sugar, 3 tbsp. butter softened, 1 tbsp. shortening, 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract, 3-4 tbsp of milk. This frosting recipe dries quickly and has a nice shine due to the crisco. Just wanted to share seeing that I would be lost during the holidays without this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRABLUE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
Amazing taste to these cookies. Even the dough was great tasting. I frosted these with a cream cheese frosting. PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
I've had better sugar cookies, but I really like the unique flavor that the cream cheese gives these ones. Once you taste the dough, it's hard to make yourself make the cookies! Two notes: After refrigerating the dough overnight, it was actually TOO stiff to be worked with (but working with it for ten minutes and letting it warm up made it just fine). Also, don't let the numbers fool you--you have to make awfully small cookies to get 6 dozen out of this recipe. I used a fairly large pumpkin-shaped cutter, and only got just over two dozen. They really are tasty, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I thought these were exceptionally tasty but my family thought they were only ok. I make many different recipes of sugar cookies and this was not one of their favorites (but I suppose it's not to be thought of as a sugar cookie). I also found the dough to be extremely sticky. Yes, refrigeration helps but it's still a very sticky dough. I rolled it between 2 sheets of parchment and used flour. After I rolled it between the 2 sheets of parchment I placed that whole layer on a cookie sheet and placed in the freezer for about 15 minutes - this made the cookie cutter's job alot easier especially since the shapes that I was making were somewhat ornate. If you are decorating your cookies with detail then I think this is a good recipe because the cookie does not lose it's shape while baking. You can definitely taste the cream cheese in these cookies. They are delicious but it does not taste like a true sugar cookie if that is what you are looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States