White Velvet Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These are great. They hold the shape very well and do not puff up or "melt." They also taste great (even without frosting) and stay semi-soft. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I've had this recipe for years and always loved them. The cream cheese makes them a little tangy and they decorate well. My recipe calls for 1/2 tsp baking powder with the flour otherwise is the same. The dough is sticky, so I usually use a lot of flour and/or roll in between plastic wrap after chilling. I add some lemon juice & milk to 10X sugar for the frosting then put sprinkles on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is my 2nd Christmas making these cookies. Love them! We usually eat them plain but I am going to try to dip some of them in chocolate like a previous commenter mentioned. Mine take longer than the 12 minutes (by about 2 minutes) but I also like mine a bit thicker. So tasty! Even my cookie picky husband likes them (he will only eat his mothers cookies....)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Made these for a cookie exchange. They didn't make it. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Our family has been making these cookies for over 60 years. Still a family favorite. It originate from Philadelphia Cream Cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
A perfect cutout cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I really loved this recipe the cookies are extremely soft and rich in flavor. I make these for gifts every year, my grandma actually gave me this recipe before I found it on Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tahmee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This is THE BEST recipe for cutting out with cookie cutters! I really like how they pretty much stay the same shape after you bake them! They taste really good too! Really good cookie for decorating. I will make this recipe over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Wow are these ever good and just as the submitter describes "an excellent cookie to decorate". This has to be some of the easiest (and tastiest) dough to work with for cut-out cookies. It's easy to roll out and they hold their form during baking. I increased the amount of white sugar by 1/4 cup and after adding the flour I added 1/4 cup of confectioners' sugar. I let chill for two hours in the fridge (overnight seemed a bit excessive). I rolled the dough out onto parchment paper that I lined with a mixture of flour and confectioners' sugar and these baked up beautifully - light, crisp, and buttery with just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Easy to make, delicious to eat! I rolled them out thicker than the recommendation, maybe 1/4 of an inch? I wanted them thick enough to make decorating easy, easy to pick up without breaking, etc. I love white velvet cookies better than sugar cookies and this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOXIEGRETL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States