White Velvet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
I made this cake for the drummer of a band that I enjoy who was quitting (to pursue the culinary arts, as I found out later). I tinted the frosting lavender and decorated it with some candied violets I had made previously. He loved it, and asked me out on a date. We now are married, and have two children. Just kidding. He really did like the cake, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
WHOA, this cake was moist and VERY rich! It didn't come out at all the way I expected but no problem, it was TASTY! It isn't white, looks more like a yellow cake and not at all like the cake mix cakes. Maybe because of using baking soda instead of baking powder? Anyway, I frosted with Hershey's Perfectly Chocolate cocoa frosting. VERY tasty! Not sure why but it needed an additional ten minutes to bake...no problem, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
This recipe was really quick and easy to make- I loved that aspect of it! The texture is smooth and the taste is buttery. I served it at a small dinner party, and everyone really enjoyed it. Be aware that it's VERY rich, though! So whether you'll like it or not depends on personal preference. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
The only good thing I can say about this cake is that the flavor is good.(a bit like a sweet cornbread) Turned quite brown in the oven, flattened, and although it's moist it's the greasiest cake I have ever eaten! Maybe some of you will have better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This recipe is absolutely phenomenal! I made it as cupcakes and baked them for about 20mins which was perfect. I reduced the butter by 1/2c, although they were still a little greasy. One bit of advice is too sift the flour and too make sure the ingredients are blended very well. For the frosting I used my own vanilla bean butter cream which went perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LacyRose

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
This has become an all-time favorite for my family and friends. Royalties due to the creator. Very, very moist and very rich. Even when I goof it up, it is still a scrumptious delight! Note: I scale back to 3c of sugar for the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
TAMMERSANN called it: "A Sweet Cornbread." And, waaaaaaay too greasy - in fact, Hurt Your Tummy greasy! Won't do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2000
After I started making this cake I thought I had left something out. But when I put the icing on and tasted it, it was really good. I'm glad I tried it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This was really greasy and heavy. The batter was very thick, almost like cookie dough. It baked fine and looked good, but it was really dense, not light and fluffy. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
I really enjoyed this cake, it was very moist and easy to make. However I didn't enjoy the icing as much, I would have preferred something les rich, but if thats your kind of icing then definately whip it up. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States