White Velvet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2000
After I started making this cake I thought I had left something out. But when I put the icing on and tasted it, it was really good. I'm glad I tried it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
This recipe was really quick and easy to make- I loved that aspect of it! The texture is smooth and the taste is buttery. I served it at a small dinner party, and everyone really enjoyed it. Be aware that it's VERY rich, though! So whether you'll like it or not depends on personal preference. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
This has become an all-time favorite for my family and friends. Royalties due to the creator. Very, very moist and very rich. Even when I goof it up, it is still a scrumptious delight! Note: I scale back to 3c of sugar for the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
I really enjoyed this cake, it was very moist and easy to make. However I didn't enjoy the icing as much, I would have preferred something les rich, but if thats your kind of icing then definately whip it up. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
WHOA, this cake was moist and VERY rich! It didn't come out at all the way I expected but no problem, it was TASTY! It isn't white, looks more like a yellow cake and not at all like the cake mix cakes. Maybe because of using baking soda instead of baking powder? Anyway, I frosted with Hershey's Perfectly Chocolate cocoa frosting. VERY tasty! Not sure why but it needed an additional ten minutes to bake...no problem, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
We found this cake ok. I'd rate it is 3 because it had too much butter, making the cake too oily and heavy and tasting too much like butter and not much else. The frosting was sour/tangy and ok. I love cream cheese frosting but not this one. My husband rated it a 3/4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Super, super recipe! My whole family loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
I really didnt think this was going to be very good to start with because we had to sub the buttermilk with regular milk and vineger and butter flavored crisco for the butter.We did add a little vanilla and increased the cooking time by 20 minutes, WOW one of the best cakes i ever tasted, a big keeper thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
This is an excellent cake, no need for frosting. My daughter, husband and I make this and just snack on it, delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Albia, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
GREAT Cake!! A favorite at family gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States