White Velvet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Mmmm... this is delish. I have made in several times into cupcakes. It's my favorite cake recipe I have found. I made into cupcakes, cream filled cupcakes, and topped with a buttercream recipe. Everyone loved it. I got told they were the best cupcakes they'd ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This cake was very RICH! It was good, but too rich for my taste. Its very moist though. I used a buttercream frosting on it, which made the cake even richer. It had a yellow color to the cake, probably due to all the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Very greasy cake. I wasn't able to get it out of the pan in one piece and ended up with cake chunks everywhere. Won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I wanted to add as well that we ended up eating it with no icing at all and it was absolutely perfect that way. No icing needed... the cake is just right the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
It tasted just like a sugar cookie like another reviewer said. My cake was so moist that it fell apart and I couldn't turn it out onto a cake stand. It also was so sweet that none of us could finish our pieces. I don't think I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
My friends LOVE this cake. I do think it is a little on the difficult side to make. It is so moist it is hard to get out of the pan, in an attractive way... But the flavor is to die for. I get asked to make this cake over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abby
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Yummy! This cake melts in your mouth, it is light and fluffy, but still dense and moist. I got a can of whipped buttercream to try and it was good. I am making this for my Wedding on Saturday and will use homemade buttercream. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
TAMMERSANN called it: "A Sweet Cornbread." And, waaaaaaay too greasy - in fact, Hurt Your Tummy greasy! Won't do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This recipe is absolutely phenomenal! I made it as cupcakes and baked them for about 20mins which was perfect. I reduced the butter by 1/2c, although they were still a little greasy. One bit of advice is too sift the flour and too make sure the ingredients are blended very well. For the frosting I used my own vanilla bean butter cream which went perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LacyRose

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
The only good thing I can say about this cake is that the flavor is good.(a bit like a sweet cornbread) Turned quite brown in the oven, flattened, and although it's moist it's the greasiest cake I have ever eaten! Maybe some of you will have better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States