White Velvet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made this cake for Thanksgiving. I wanted white velvet rather than the red so I didn't have to use food coloring. I thought it was the frosting was going to make it too sweet. But it wasn't. I got so many compliments on the cake that I had to make 3 cakes for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
My hubby liked the taste of the cupcakes I made from this recipe. They turned really brown and than sank, so they didn't look at appealing at all. won't make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I made this for my husband's birthday and he was very impressed. The cake was, and is still (a week later) very moist! It did bake kinda weird, but I will try it again and play around a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I have made many cakes and was really looking forward to trying this one. It turned out greasy and was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsblmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
It had the consistency and taste of cornbread! How weird is that...I double checked the recipe and I followed it to the letter so I don't think it was anything I did...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This was wonderful. Made cupcakes and I used powdered buttermilk and water, and light butter instead of full fat and it worked perfectly. Not greasy at all. Instead of milk I used a tablespoon of fat free greek yogurt in the frosting which cut the sweetness. Sounds gross but it was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
i made the recipe exactly they way it said and it came out very moist and oily. i didnt have a problem taking it out of the pan. the thing i didnt like was it tasted like corn bread. its a very yellow cake just like corn bread. no white at all, i wont make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
the cake tastes like sugar cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie Bacon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I made this recipe twice following the directions and it turned out ok-too dense and flat for what I was looking for. It ended up being a heavy, oily, over buttery tasting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZMUM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Mmmm... this is delish. I have made in several times into cupcakes. It's my favorite cake recipe I have found. I made into cupcakes, cream filled cupcakes, and topped with a buttercream recipe. Everyone loved it. I got told they were the best cupcakes they'd ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States