White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2004
Everytime I make this cake for work I go home with an empty pan. However, I prefer to use cream cheese frosting. It goes very well with this cake. 1 package of cream cheese, 1 box of powdered sugar, 1 tbsp. butter and 1/2 tsp. almond extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2004
When I found this recipe I was so excited! I love the chocolate version of Texas sheet cake and this one is just as great! I like to make one chocolate and one white for summer outdoor barbecues. If you've never made a Texas sheet cake before, you will doubt the odd preparation method and probably be concerned that there is no possibility that it will turn out when you see the runny batter, but don't worry!! It will be a moist, tender cake. Also, be SURE to use the 10 x 15 pan, NOT a 9 x 13 or it won't cook properly. It's *supposed* to be flat. I love the warm icing spread over the warm cake, no waiting for anything to cool! It makes a smooth, attractive cake surface too. Anybody I've ever served this to has been impressed by the flavor and moistness even if it's not fancy. But NOT for the timid sweet tooth! It's definitely sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2005
I've introduced my part of the world to Texas Sheet Cake and it was very well-received. Quick to prepare, moist, nice flavor. I've made it with both almond and vanilla extract, both times it went quickly. We did find it way too sweet so the 2nd time around I reduced the sugar in the cake to 1.5 cups and for the frosting used one third cup of butter and a bit less than 4 cups of confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
First, let's be clear about what this is: It's a white sheet cake. I was reading some complaints about it being flavorless, but white cakes aren't supposed to taste like anything but sugar. If you want something else, try a spice cake. I've also seen complaints that it's falt, but it's a sheet cake. It's supposed to be flat. I'm giving this cake 5 stars because it is excellent at what it is -- a moist white cake and a vehicle for icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Very flat, very terrible, bland, wet, just overall yuk. Before I bake every cake from scratch I always check out the ratings. I am a cake decorator and bake cakes from scratch. Its just too wet and flat to sell to my customers. If anyone out there has a better recipe please let me know. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UNIQUENESS2

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
It's been so long I've been looking for such a cake, not knowing a "white Texas sheet cake" existed. Wonderful the way it is, but I may "play" with different tastes and flavours, depending on the extract used (vanilla, orange, lemon, coconut, whatever). Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
This cake is a favorite at our house! I have a family that is not so wild about almond, so I make it for them with vanilla extract. I also omit the nuts per my kids' request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
My husband insisted this cake was too sweet. My three year old daughter who usually is a sugarholic like myself, wouldn't touch this cake after the first bite. Personally, I love this cake! But I want to accurately reflect the opinions of my family in this review. What I might do is make this cake again and lessen the sugar content (especially in the icing) and then sneak it to them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
I followed the recipe to the "T". And it turned out flat. There was no rise to this cake. And the taste was bland. I made it as a birthday cake for husband boy was I embarassed. I had to make two of them just to give the cake some height.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
If your favorite drink is Pepsi, you will probably like this. But if you are a "water drinker" who occasionally makes a cake, this will probably be too sweet for your liking (me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gayleskornerkitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Williamsport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States