White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I love this cake. It turns out very dense and moist. I use round pans and between the layers I put a glaze that soaks in, then I cover it with traditional butter cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kevinpaul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I am a Chef for a High end Independent living center and my residents loved this cake. Its was fast and delish..It is now a regular dessert on our menu..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Sinful Chef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A & R's Mommy
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
"It was a rainy day, too wet to go outside. Mommy said 'Let's make cupcakes. What colour would you like?'. 'Pink!' I said. 'Pink! Pink! Pink!'". Needless to say it was a rainy day, too wet to go outside and after reading one of my little girl's favourite books, Mommy had to consult AR to find a recipe for cupcakes that could be made pink. Pink! Pink! Pink! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Very good and very easy. I used half almond extract and half vanilla when almond was called for because it's not an ingredient I've used much and I wasn't sure how the family would like it. They like it! Next time I'll try it without vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I baked this for a potluck dinner. I thought it was fantastically fast and easy to prepare. Trust them when they tell you to put the frosting on warm! It gets unmanageable fast. I got lots of compliments. The only reason I gave it a 4-star rating is that I personally thought it was pretty sweet. I might use a butter cream frosting on it...with the awareness that it would take away from the quick preparation time. All-in-all, however, I thought it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.E. Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I was skeptical regarding this batter since it was much more runny than I am used to but this was fantastic. I didn't use the frosting posted. I used the cake as the white part of a checkerboard cake and I don't think that I have ever received so many RAVING compliments on a cake. I used a dark chocolate box cake for the dark part of the cake and had a lot of trouble cutting it and setting it so I am positive that this cake is what sent it over the top for everyone. It was incredibly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Cake was great but the frosting was way too thick when following the given directions. I added approximately 1/4 cup more milk, one Tablespoon at a time until it was thinned enough to spread over the cake. Other than that, a fantastic cake that is super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This is absolutely delicious! It was in the fridge for a few days and kept getting even better. I baked it in a 9X13 pan and it was the perfect height and sweetness.It looked beautiful. I used vanilla instead of almond extract because it was for kids but I can't wait to try it with almond!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This is one of the most addicting cakes I have ever eaten. I tried it for a large party and also make a chocolate one. I had alot of leftovers from the party and thinking I should'nt keep alot of the sweets, I sent most of it home with my guests. Once I tasted this, it has been on my mind like an addiction. I can't wait to make another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Good and moist! I used my own frosting, cream cheese and whipped cream and wow. For Easter, I added green food coloring to the cake and made the frosting pink. Was so pretty and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaisyFoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States