White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by A & R's Mommy
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
"It was a rainy day, too wet to go outside. Mommy said 'Let's make cupcakes. What colour would you like?'. 'Pink!' I said. 'Pink! Pink! Pink!'". Needless to say it was a rainy day, too wet to go outside and after reading one of my little girl's favourite books, Mommy had to consult AR to find a recipe for cupcakes that could be made pink. Pink! Pink! Pink! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Very good and very easy. I used half almond extract and half vanilla when almond was called for because it's not an ingredient I've used much and I wasn't sure how the family would like it. They like it! Next time I'll try it without vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I baked this for a potluck dinner. I thought it was fantastically fast and easy to prepare. Trust them when they tell you to put the frosting on warm! It gets unmanageable fast. I got lots of compliments. The only reason I gave it a 4-star rating is that I personally thought it was pretty sweet. I might use a butter cream frosting on it...with the awareness that it would take away from the quick preparation time. All-in-all, however, I thought it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.E. Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I was skeptical regarding this batter since it was much more runny than I am used to but this was fantastic. I didn't use the frosting posted. I used the cake as the white part of a checkerboard cake and I don't think that I have ever received so many RAVING compliments on a cake. I used a dark chocolate box cake for the dark part of the cake and had a lot of trouble cutting it and setting it so I am positive that this cake is what sent it over the top for everyone. It was incredibly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Cake was great but the frosting was way too thick when following the given directions. I added approximately 1/4 cup more milk, one Tablespoon at a time until it was thinned enough to spread over the cake. Other than that, a fantastic cake that is super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This is absolutely delicious! It was in the fridge for a few days and kept getting even better. I baked it in a 9X13 pan and it was the perfect height and sweetness.It looked beautiful. I used vanilla instead of almond extract because it was for kids but I can't wait to try it with almond!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This is one of the most addicting cakes I have ever eaten. I tried it for a large party and also make a chocolate one. I had alot of leftovers from the party and thinking I should'nt keep alot of the sweets, I sent most of it home with my guests. Once I tasted this, it has been on my mind like an addiction. I can't wait to make another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Good and moist! I used my own frosting, cream cheese and whipped cream and wow. For Easter, I added green food coloring to the cake and made the frosting pink. Was so pretty and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaisyFoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I was overall pleased with this recipe. I love almond, but I might add some vanilla extract with the almond next time. I cut the recipe for the cake in half. I also cut the icing recipe in half but it wasn't enough to cover the cake which I baked on a 13 x 9.5 baking sheet. I would recommend making 3/4 of the icing recipe if baking on that size pan. I baked at 350 for 18 minutes until my cake was golden in color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Made this for the 1st time for my mom's birthday cake. It was a HUGE hit! Made it exactly according to the recipe. Opted for a chocolate icing, decorated with strawberries. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States