White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
We enjoyed this one! I used pecans instead of walnuts. Kept well for lunches for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I like this cake very much I sometimes use vanilla extract in place of the almond extract in the icing. My mom says since it is very sweet and rich she makes only half a batch of icing for the cake. I also have a neighbor who bakes texas sheet cakes in a regular rectangular cake pan probably for height but she may bake it longer than the given time but not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Odin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
The cake was eatable but flat....I suggest 1 teaspoon baking powder added to the dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Great recipe! I did change it, replaced almond extract with lemon extract. A totally different texas sheet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
PAN SIZE IS ESSENTIAL!!! If you make this cake in a size other than indicated, you will have a failure. If you choose to do that, do NOT rate the recipe poorly. Texas sheet cakes are *supposed* to be flat, moist, dense, and sweet. If you try to make it be something it's not, you'll be disappointed (and that will not be the fault of the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I've had a hard time finding a moist white cake recipe from scratch and hoped this one would be good, since I love the chocolate version of Texas sheet cake. It's a winner!! Thanks for a great recipe! I did make the cake as instructed, except I used buttermilk instead of sour cream. I topped it with my own homemade chocolate frosting to accomodate the teenage boys in the house. They had a hard time stopping themselves from eating the whole cake by themselves. I'll make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This is easily the most popular recipe on my cooking blog. It is absolutely delicious--or, as I like to say, "It's frantastic!" I cut down on the almond extract just a bit to balance it with the vanilla. You will not find a moister cake! As I said in my posting of it on my blog, "Saying this cake is moist is like saying the Atlantic Ocean is wet!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FransFavs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I made this with the cream cheese icing as another reviewer suggested. It's excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Just baked this, great texture & moisture. Sour cream had expired so I used low fat vanilla yogart & 11/2 t vanilla. Loved the quickness of it and my husband loved the taste. Will make this again. Goin to try substituting some brown sugar in with the butter stage along with confectioners sugar for a caramel frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This is the best white cake I've ever made and it is so easy. My husband and family ask me almost weekly when I'm making the next one. Thank you for giving me another family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellersKitchen426

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Cheney, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States