White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This is absolutely wonderful. Very easy to make. I used pecans because I like them better. But it was good with the walnuts, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Good. I ended up making three rounds instead of one sheet cake. Simple, and tasty. Very mild flavor - great for a flavorful icing. I think next time I'd try a rich chocolate icing to top it off - that would be scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I find the reviews stating the cake is "flat" strange. Texas sheet cake is supposed to be flat!! It's more like a cake-y brownie, but definitely should not taste like a brownie. This recipe is great as is. It is sweet, but so is the chocolate version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I love this cake. It turns out very dense and moist. I use round pans and between the layers I put a glaze that soaks in, then I cover it with traditional butter cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kevinpaul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I am a Chef for a High end Independent living center and my residents loved this cake. Its was fast and delish..It is now a regular dessert on our menu..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Sinful Chef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A & R's Mommy
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
"It was a rainy day, too wet to go outside. Mommy said 'Let's make cupcakes. What colour would you like?'. 'Pink!' I said. 'Pink! Pink! Pink!'". Needless to say it was a rainy day, too wet to go outside and after reading one of my little girl's favourite books, Mommy had to consult AR to find a recipe for cupcakes that could be made pink. Pink! Pink! Pink! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Very good and very easy. I used half almond extract and half vanilla when almond was called for because it's not an ingredient I've used much and I wasn't sure how the family would like it. They like it! Next time I'll try it without vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I baked this for a potluck dinner. I thought it was fantastically fast and easy to prepare. Trust them when they tell you to put the frosting on warm! It gets unmanageable fast. I got lots of compliments. The only reason I gave it a 4-star rating is that I personally thought it was pretty sweet. I might use a butter cream frosting on it...with the awareness that it would take away from the quick preparation time. All-in-all, however, I thought it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.E. Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I was skeptical regarding this batter since it was much more runny than I am used to but this was fantastic. I didn't use the frosting posted. I used the cake as the white part of a checkerboard cake and I don't think that I have ever received so many RAVING compliments on a cake. I used a dark chocolate box cake for the dark part of the cake and had a lot of trouble cutting it and setting it so I am positive that this cake is what sent it over the top for everyone. It was incredibly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Cake was great but the frosting was way too thick when following the given directions. I added approximately 1/4 cup more milk, one Tablespoon at a time until it was thinned enough to spread over the cake. Other than that, a fantastic cake that is super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States