White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This is easily the most popular recipe on my cooking blog. It is absolutely delicious--or, as I like to say, "It's frantastic!" I cut down on the almond extract just a bit to balance it with the vanilla. You will not find a moister cake! As I said in my posting of it on my blog, "Saying this cake is moist is like saying the Atlantic Ocean is wet!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FransFavs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I made this with the cream cheese icing as another reviewer suggested. It's excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Just baked this, great texture & moisture. Sour cream had expired so I used low fat vanilla yogart & 11/2 t vanilla. Loved the quickness of it and my husband loved the taste. Will make this again. Goin to try substituting some brown sugar in with the butter stage along with confectioners sugar for a caramel frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This is the best white cake I've ever made and it is so easy. My husband and family ask me almost weekly when I'm making the next one. Thank you for giving me another family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellersKitchen426

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Cheney, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This cake was easy to make and makes a huge quantity. My mom said the frosting has a little too much almond flavor, but I may have over done it. I would cut back on the amount of walnuts in the frosting because it makes it thick and hard to spread as it cools fast. There is just a enough frosting to cover the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Honestly, I don't understand why I kept trying to get this recipe right. At 1st I thought it was my flour, so I had run and get more. 4x I tried to get this right. No luck. And it didn't even taste right after I finally got it correct. Sorry. I wished it was all my error, but I make loads of cakes weekly by scratch and it didn't work for me at all. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Great recipe. My only change is instead of sour cream, I use vanilla yogurt. I also will sometimes use a different frosting to change things up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Amazing! The only reason I can't give it 5 stars is because the icing is so sweet. I still enjoyed it, but I would like the icing to be less sweet. The cake itself is moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I used this recipe as the base for a Coconut Poke Cake (recipe by Leslie on allrecipes.) I added 2 teaspoons of baking powder and used 1 teaspoon of vanilla instead of the almond extract and baked it in a 13 x 9" pan at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes. I made two of them for dessert at a large gathering. It received rave reviews!! I will use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
If your favorite drink is Pepsi, you will probably like this. But if you are a "water drinker" who occasionally makes a cake, this will probably be too sweet for your liking (me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gayleskornerkitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Williamsport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States