White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This cake was easy to make and makes a huge quantity. My mom said the frosting has a little too much almond flavor, but I may have over done it. I would cut back on the amount of walnuts in the frosting because it makes it thick and hard to spread as it cools fast. There is just a enough frosting to cover the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Honestly, I don't understand why I kept trying to get this recipe right. At 1st I thought it was my flour, so I had run and get more. 4x I tried to get this right. No luck. And it didn't even taste right after I finally got it correct. Sorry. I wished it was all my error, but I make loads of cakes weekly by scratch and it didn't work for me at all. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Great recipe. My only change is instead of sour cream, I use vanilla yogurt. I also will sometimes use a different frosting to change things up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Amazing! The only reason I can't give it 5 stars is because the icing is so sweet. I still enjoyed it, but I would like the icing to be less sweet. The cake itself is moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I used this recipe as the base for a Coconut Poke Cake (recipe by Leslie on allrecipes.) I added 2 teaspoons of baking powder and used 1 teaspoon of vanilla instead of the almond extract and baked it in a 13 x 9" pan at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes. I made two of them for dessert at a large gathering. It received rave reviews!! I will use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
If your favorite drink is Pepsi, you will probably like this. But if you are a "water drinker" who occasionally makes a cake, this will probably be too sweet for your liking (me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gayleskornerkitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Williamsport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I made this cake exactly as stated except in a round pan, so I had too increase the time. Hour of baking produced a cake that tested done but was very wet and oily. Put it back in and it dried out some but still oily and had a rawish smell and taste. I guess I was right about the preparation method - nothing beats creaming butter and sugar first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I. LOVE. THIS. CAKE. I've always made the chocolate version of Texas sheet cakes and like others had no CLUE there was a white version, but Diane, YOU my new little friend are just the BEST! I discovered this recipe just recently and have already tried several variations, with great success with every modification I might add. My first go-round, I needed a white cake for Church, something basic to go under a white cream cheese frosting to decorate with black musical notes. Little hesitant with the almond so used half almond, half vanilla on the extracts. Everyone loved it, so that weekend when family came over for the Super Bowl I tried the recipe as written. Realizing "as written" could mean walnuts OR pecans, I opted for pecans and all almond extract. Rave reviews was an UNDERSTATEMENT! Made it several times since then too. (You'd like to think I have no other dessert recipes, lol!) Making it again tonight to be used as a dessert after our youth's Spaghetti Dinner fundraiser tomorrow. Will be trying sprinkles instead of nuts this time since it'll be mostly kids in attendance. I was actually asked to bring a "box cake" but why use a BOX when you have a recipe like THIS! It's quick, SO easy, versatile and quite adaptable. The best part is it's mostly ingredients you already have on hand. Not one single "con" I can think of...it's just the perfect cake just the way it's written here! Diane, thanks SO MUCH for sharing...needless to say, for me, this one's a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Great cake!!! I love Chocolate Texas Sheet Cake so had to try this. Loved it. I did add a little vanilla extract along with the almond extract to the cake. Used Pecans instead of walnuts because I like :-)I think next time I would like to use Maple extract w/Pecan. I think that would be a GREAT combo :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Rice Lomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I love this plain or with hot bittersweet chocolate sauce. I used a 9x13 and added 2 tsps of baking powder. Toothpick out clean in only 30 mins @350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States