White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I thought it was a strange way to mix a cake but I followed the instructions exactly as written. The cake turned out heavy and flat and a strange yellow. I couldn't use it for a birthday. I had to bake another cake from another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Good. Easy. The frosting was too stiff so would add less sugar or add more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This has to be one of the easiest and most moist white cakes I’ve tried. I cook for a correctional halfway house and am always looking for ideas to cook up. I tripled the recipe to make enough for a large sheet tray and it easily served the 50 residents here. The cake made a big hit with them all. The suggestion that about adding more milk to the frosting was spot on though. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Albion, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is awesome!! My goal this summer (and last summer actually) have been to find a good yellow or white cake recipe. I have tried many different yellow and white cakes that had high reviews on this site and so far none have been what I am looking for. They all end up shrinking, and while some of them had good flavor, they were also very dense. Then I decided to try this for a flag cake I wanted to make for the fourth of July. I used vanilla extract instead of almond, and I didn't use the icing recipe as I was making a flag design with whipped cream, strawberries, and blueberries. It was moist and had a very nice flavor. I am going to experiment with different icings and pan sizes, as I would like to make round cakes with this recipe. I will let you know how that goes! I'll put a picture of the flag cake I made with this. It was wonderful! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
As a Texan and southerner, I've baked and eaten a lot of sheet cakes. This is DELICIOUS. Period. For those of you not familiar with this type of cake, it's supposed to be flat. The frosting here is terrific as well, but I prefer a simple butter cream. Thanks to Diane Kester!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I did not use the frosting, so I cannot speak for the entire recipe, but the cake itself was excellent- very moist. I doubled the recipe to use in an 11x17 pan (greased and floured), then torted to fill with fresh strawberry mango filling, and topped with vanilla-almond buttercream and fondant. The cake held together very well when I torted it which had been a concern since it was quite a big size. I will definitely be adding this to my arsenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Loved IT! Soo easy to make and soo tasty! I added extra almond extract because I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I love this cake! I changed the frosting - left out almond extract and added a tablespoon of vanilla instead, and left out walnuts. THE BEST!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Great cake! So easy to prepare and I always receive compliments. I do add a bit more milk to the icing so it spreads easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Very good and moist cake. I added a little coconut along with the walnuts. Got rave reviews from group I cooked for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States