White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Since first discovering this recipe earlier this year, I have made this cake several times changing nothing except a little less icing.Because it is so sweet, a small slice is sufficient. Cake is very moist.Can't imagine it without the almond which makes the flavor pop. Pairs nicely with a scoop of vanilla ice cream for a simple but delicious dessert. (White on white is a statement in itself) Great also for a shower or Mother 's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Fantastic cake. I used cool whip cream cheese prepackaged frosting (I typically hate and refuse to use canned frosting) on the cooled cake for the sake of time. It was SO delicious. Wonderful cake base recipe. My chocolate loving daughter thought this was better than the chocolate version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I made this recipe up last week and while it didn't come out white, it really got rave reviews. I doubled the recipe for a larger cookie sheet. I cut the cake in half to make a layer cake and used raspberry jam for the filling. Other than that, followed the recipe exactly. I'll make this cake again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I made this for my Husbands birthday. His mom always makes a chocolate version for everyone's birthday, and I thought I would try something new. He doesn't like too much chocolate, whereas I am a chocolate nut! In that aspect it turned out amazing and delicious! The only aspect that I didn't expect was my family, who critiqued it as having a "weird" taste. After reviewing some of the other comments, I realized my family apparently does not like almond extract, being used to only vanilla. Oddly, I won't change it the next time I make it, because we loved the subtle difference. They just won't get any=P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Trahan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This is one of the best cakes I have ever baked. Used cream cheese frosting. It was a huge hit! I've finally found the cake that I'll go back to again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I thought this cake very moist if you make it the day before then frost it. I also used vanilla nut flavoring because that's all I had and it still had a good flavor. Though it is sweet its great with a glass of milk .I will make this cake again-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thereagors1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Morris, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This was very good. We all love Texas Sheet Cake, but my husband can no longer eat chocolate. He loved this! I still prefer the chocolate version, but I will make this again for my hubby! I followed the recipe except I used vanilla extract in place of the almond extract (didn't have any). This is a very good white version of Texas Sheet Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Ingalsbe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This is GREAT! I took it to church and had so many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Hertel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Most amazing cake ever!!! Even my family members who don't like sweets loved it!! Plus it's super easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is a much easier method for making a cake doing in a pot on the stove...let me tell you. You can change it up too--one way is with lemon glaze for icing and vanilla or lemon instead of almond extract in cake. I do cut the sugar for cake in half though because glaze so sweet. I like it better. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States