White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was awful. I am a Texan, born and raised and never heard of a Texas Sheet Cake, so I gave it a try. Made it for Christmas. Five adults tried it, all said it wasn't good, to be nice. Threw it out the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I LOVE the chocolate version of Texas Sheet Cake and was a little skeptical but this is awesome. I made it for Christmas Eve and got many compliments. I didn't use the walnuts in the icing. I melted green and red white chocolate and drizzled it on the icing which gave it a festive look. I did follow the reviews and cut back on the sugar which was a must because it was sweet enough the way it was. Don't skip the almod flavoring. It is a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Nice taste but incredibly sweet and I even cut down on the sugar from 2 cups to about a cup and a half. But then again, what do you expect from a cake that calls for three sticks of butter, two cups of sugar and an entire box of confectioners sugar? I wanted to try something different, and it indeed was. I omitted the nuts, also. Like I said, it did have a nice taste but there are many other desserts to indulge in for the amount of fat and calories found in this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JERSEYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
IF YOU WANT SOMETHING DIFFERENT THIS IS IT ! IT IS ABSOLUTLEY WONDERFUL !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
My husband insisted this cake was too sweet. My three year old daughter who usually is a sugarholic like myself, wouldn't touch this cake after the first bite. Personally, I love this cake! But I want to accurately reflect the opinions of my family in this review. What I might do is make this cake again and lessen the sugar content (especially in the icing) and then sneak it to them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Very GOOD and easy to make will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Delicious! Used just a slightly larger pan which gave a thinner layer of icing! Very rich and buttery. This recipe is already in my recipe box for the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This didn't turn out well for me at all. I don't know what the problem was, but there are simpler recipes for easy white cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 221BBAKERSTREET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frostburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Berryville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Excellent recipe. I made a white texas sheet cake and a chocolate texas sheet cake. The white one was the clear winner. I had many people ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I thought this cake was too sweet. I made exactly as recipe stated, and it turned out nice but just way way too sugary. I could feel my teeth falling out...lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States