White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I thought this was an excellent cake and prepared it as per the recipe. I kept the icing on the stovetop on warm until I put it on the cake. It spread fairly easily. I would make it again. We have a family dinner in a couple of weeks... I think I will make this cake and the Chocolate version and take both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Very yummy. But ya know, the next time I make it, I am going to leave the icing off. I thought that it made the cake way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pima, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Very Good Cake! Extremely Moist! The only problem was that it was too sweet, so the next time i'll cut back on the sugar, but i will be making this again, very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I love the taste of this cake, and how easy it was to make. I have made this cake twice. The first time it turned out great, but with family heart problems, it has WAY too much saturated fat - even for a cake. The second time I made it, I made the following modifications: I used 1/2 c Grape Seed Oil in place of 1 cup of butter. I "upped" the water to 1 1/2 cups and I reduced the sugar in the batter to 1 1/2 cups. I also added 1 tsp of baking powder due to the altitude where we live - the first time I made it, it was a bit flat) I also only made 1/2 the icing (but I did use butter for this). No one in my family even noticed the difference!! Try it and see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
great recipe, used 1.5 cups of flour as instructed. will use a chocolate ganache/frosting next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristie111

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I just made the cake (subbing vanilla for almond extract). I'm not in love with the texture of the cake; it's a little oily and flat to me--It seems flatter than the regular chocolate version of a Texas Sheet Cake. I'm wondering if I should add 1/4 to 1/2 cup more flour to make up for the lack of cocoa powder (a dry ingredient that might help with the texture). One fun idea...I made 1/2 the frosting as per this recipe, and the other 1/2 as per the chocolate version of this recipe. I frosted half the cake with each frosting (started frosting the length of the cake to the middle--so you have more area of the cake that you can cut with both kinds of frosting on the pieces). It turned out kind of like a "New York Black and White Cookie." My daughter and her friends liked the cake; my husband also liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
i thought this was delicious! i halved the recipe.. baked it in a 8x8" pan and made my own icing by using brown sugar, white sugar, vanilla and a touch of water to thin it out.. it was great and made a nice sugary topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMClanton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I love chocolate Texas sheet cake, so I thought I'd try the white version. I thought it was very good, although I did not care for the almond flavoring. Next time I'll just use vanilla. For those having trouble with the frosting spreading properly, it is imperative that both the cake and frosting be warm when spreading. Also, for those who think the cake is too thin, it's a sheet cake made in a sheet pan. It's supposed to be thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
We loved this cake! I took the advice of others and cut down on the sugar. I ground up the nuts for the icing only because that's how we like them. I've made this recipe several times and it's been a hit each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbiana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This cake is so rich and delicious, that it is the one that everyone at work requests for any kind of party, and every single birthday! If you haven't tried it, you should. I use a 1/2 sheet pan for 40 servings, and instead of walnuts, I toast sliced almonds and add them to the icing. The best EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States