White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Good Stuff!! I was a little nervous to make this--a white Texas Sheet Cake?? Really?? Oh yeah, so good!! Followed recipe until adding nuts to icing--I toasted coconut instead. Came out perfect. Other reviewers complained about the cake not rising--it's a SHEET cake, it's not supposed to rise! I also saw complaints about it being too sweet/rich. This is another trait of sheet cake, maybe cut smaller pieces... Great recipe, with lots of room to experiment...using vanilla or lemon. Can't wait to try them all. Thanks for sharing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I reduced this recipe in half for me and my husband. I cooked it in a 9X9 square pan. It was yummy. He is not fond of almond flavor, but I love it. Next time I will use vanilla instead for him. It is quick and easy to make. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irondale, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This is so good and so rich. I love white cake, and I love almond extract, so the recipe is right up my alley. I seriously doubt I will ever make a boxed cake again. It is so rich and so good! Much to my dismay, when I went to get my sour cream out of the fridge, I realized I was out! So, I used 1/2 cup milk instead, and that's it, because I was also out of vinegar, had no yogurt or any kind of sour cream substitute whatsoever! But, it still turned out great. I'll make this many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
had this recipe saved forever and finally tried it and i am so glad i did! i made it just like the recipe said, and it turned out fantastic. i thought i had overbaked it at 20 minutes because it looked so dark brown on the edges, but i didn't. it just cooks like that. it turned out really moist and flavorful. i will be making this many times i am sure in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I made this for a co-worker since she asked for white cake. I didn't give it to her, because I didn't like it at all. Especially the frosting. Thanks for the recipe anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I am a huge fan of the chocolate version of this recipe but this one is almost too sweet for me. I made it twice. Once using all vanilla and the second time using all almond flavoring. I liked the almond better but it's still SUPER rich. I also used pecans on top and that helped cut the sweetness. You will need to mix them into the frosting when it's hot though. Otherwise, they won't stick to the frosting. Like the chocolate version, it's important to frost the cake when the cake AND frosting are hot. Then the frosting isn't too thick as some other reviewers mentioned. I used a 9x13 in. cake pan and baked for 43 min. at 350. If you're using a foil pan it only takes 39. Make sure you have a cold glass of milk and limit your portions and this cake will be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Looked a little oily to me, but then again, I cut it when it was still warm. I've heard that this is a good one once it has set for 24 hours. I'll try it again today. Also, my frost was really thick, but I just added a couple of tablespoons of milk to make it more spreadable. All in all, the flavor was really good. I can't wait to have another piece today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I have used the chocolate version of this for years... I had never thought of doing it without! I decided to use lemon flavoring and lemon zest in the cake instead of the almond. Then put lemon juice, zest and flavoring in the icing. It made a super lemon cake... might try it with strawberry next time! Thank you Diane Kester for posting this recipe and giving me some super ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very tasty but the frosting puts it over the top sweet for me and I like sweet. The walnuts do help to cut the sweetness but not enough so would suggest a lower sugar option for frosting such as not too sweet whipped cream or a cream cheese frosting or just a simple glaze. I didn't have the right size pan so just used a 13 X 9 at 350 for about half an hour. Worked fine but next time I make I will do a different frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was good but didn't get very high in the pan they suggest. Also I would cut down on the almond flavoring next time. They were good but I have had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States