White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
had this recipe saved forever and finally tried it and i am so glad i did! i made it just like the recipe said, and it turned out fantastic. i thought i had overbaked it at 20 minutes because it looked so dark brown on the edges, but i didn't. it just cooks like that. it turned out really moist and flavorful. i will be making this many times i am sure in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I made this for a co-worker since she asked for white cake. I didn't give it to her, because I didn't like it at all. Especially the frosting. Thanks for the recipe anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I am a huge fan of the chocolate version of this recipe but this one is almost too sweet for me. I made it twice. Once using all vanilla and the second time using all almond flavoring. I liked the almond better but it's still SUPER rich. I also used pecans on top and that helped cut the sweetness. You will need to mix them into the frosting when it's hot though. Otherwise, they won't stick to the frosting. Like the chocolate version, it's important to frost the cake when the cake AND frosting are hot. Then the frosting isn't too thick as some other reviewers mentioned. I used a 9x13 in. cake pan and baked for 43 min. at 350. If you're using a foil pan it only takes 39. Make sure you have a cold glass of milk and limit your portions and this cake will be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Looked a little oily to me, but then again, I cut it when it was still warm. I've heard that this is a good one once it has set for 24 hours. I'll try it again today. Also, my frost was really thick, but I just added a couple of tablespoons of milk to make it more spreadable. All in all, the flavor was really good. I can't wait to have another piece today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I have used the chocolate version of this for years... I had never thought of doing it without! I decided to use lemon flavoring and lemon zest in the cake instead of the almond. Then put lemon juice, zest and flavoring in the icing. It made a super lemon cake... might try it with strawberry next time! Thank you Diane Kester for posting this recipe and giving me some super ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very tasty but the frosting puts it over the top sweet for me and I like sweet. The walnuts do help to cut the sweetness but not enough so would suggest a lower sugar option for frosting such as not too sweet whipped cream or a cream cheese frosting or just a simple glaze. I didn't have the right size pan so just used a 13 X 9 at 350 for about half an hour. Worked fine but next time I make I will do a different frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was good but didn't get very high in the pan they suggest. Also I would cut down on the almond flavoring next time. They were good but I have had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Very happy! This was my first real homemade cake! It didn't drop and was nice and moist! Yay! lol I even made a mistake in the cake batter! I used 1/2 cup of butter instead of the 1 cup of butter that was called for! ( Got distracted!) lol The frosting was just a little too sweet for me. Next time I'll cut back on the confectioners' sugar to about 3 1/2 cups instead of 4 1/2 cups and I'll use vanilla extract in the batter and frosting. Thank you Diane! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin' Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Wow! Incredibly sweet! My husband said that it put him in a diabetic coma!! It was good but I will make it in a regular cake pan next time and not as a thin sheet cake since it was just so sweet. I'm wondering if that may cut some of the intense sweetness since the icing wouldn't be as thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Delicious! The chocolate version of this cake has long been popular with our family, so I thought it would be a good idea to try this. However, both versions of this cake should be made in a jelly roll pan, 15x10! If not, your cake won't be as good. This cake is flat, dense, very moist and just overall wonderful! I've made it with almond extract and subbed vanilla one time; I think the family enjoyed the vanilla-flavored version the best. The cake certainly gets moister as it sits - but you don't have to make it early, it's great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States