White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This was delicious. I love the taste of almond extract, so this was amazing. I will make this cake, along with the chocolate Texas sheet cake for my husband's family reunion. I am expecting about 50 - 75 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Kane Naylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lenox, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Housatonic, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This cake is really delicious! I love chocolate texas sheet cake but one of my sons isn't a fan of chocolate so we decided to try this one. I made it exactly as it shows, but put it in my big cookie sheet and it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I use this recipe for cupcakes and they turn out great! They're easy to frost and decorate (I use a buttercream frosting) and don't crumble when eaten like a cake mix does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I did not bake this in a 10x15x1 pan only because we do not own a pan of this size. And despite chellebelle's review I went ahead and baked it in a 9x13 anyway because another reviewer said hers turned out just fine. Even the time she suggested of 43min @ 350 seemed to be right on the mark for my 9x13. (BTW, "Thank You, CathyW, I am glad I took your advice.") It worked perfectly. It reminds me of Pineapple Upside Down cake w/out the pineapples. It's sticky and very scrumptious. The icing, however, didn't work out so well, too runny for me. Instead I used a whipped topping w/ a drop of banana extract and just placed a dollop on my slice, YUM CITY! Thanks Diane for submitting this recipe, I will consider this for birthdays in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Good Stuff!! I was a little nervous to make this--a white Texas Sheet Cake?? Really?? Oh yeah, so good!! Followed recipe until adding nuts to icing--I toasted coconut instead. Came out perfect. Other reviewers complained about the cake not rising--it's a SHEET cake, it's not supposed to rise! I also saw complaints about it being too sweet/rich. This is another trait of sheet cake, maybe cut smaller pieces... Great recipe, with lots of room to experiment...using vanilla or lemon. Can't wait to try them all. Thanks for sharing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I reduced this recipe in half for me and my husband. I cooked it in a 9X9 square pan. It was yummy. He is not fond of almond flavor, but I love it. Next time I will use vanilla instead for him. It is quick and easy to make. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irondale, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This is so good and so rich. I love white cake, and I love almond extract, so the recipe is right up my alley. I seriously doubt I will ever make a boxed cake again. It is so rich and so good! Much to my dismay, when I went to get my sour cream out of the fridge, I realized I was out! So, I used 1/2 cup milk instead, and that's it, because I was also out of vinegar, had no yogurt or any kind of sour cream substitute whatsoever! But, it still turned out great. I'll make this many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
had this recipe saved forever and finally tried it and i am so glad i did! i made it just like the recipe said, and it turned out fantastic. i thought i had overbaked it at 20 minutes because it looked so dark brown on the edges, but i didn't. it just cooks like that. it turned out really moist and flavorful. i will be making this many times i am sure in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I made this for a co-worker since she asked for white cake. I didn't give it to her, because I didn't like it at all. Especially the frosting. Thanks for the recipe anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I am a huge fan of the chocolate version of this recipe but this one is almost too sweet for me. I made it twice. Once using all vanilla and the second time using all almond flavoring. I liked the almond better but it's still SUPER rich. I also used pecans on top and that helped cut the sweetness. You will need to mix them into the frosting when it's hot though. Otherwise, they won't stick to the frosting. Like the chocolate version, it's important to frost the cake when the cake AND frosting are hot. Then the frosting isn't too thick as some other reviewers mentioned. I used a 9x13 in. cake pan and baked for 43 min. at 350. If you're using a foil pan it only takes 39. Make sure you have a cold glass of milk and limit your portions and this cake will be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States