White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Been making this for a few years now and my whole family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I made this recipe (despite the bad reviews), but found that I was out of a few things, so I made some minor substitutions. I didn't have sour cream, so I used buttermilk. I didnt have all purpose flour, so I used self rising, and left out the salt and baking soda. I also didnt have milk for the icing, so I used half heavy cream/half water. I also did not use the nuts, and chose to add a dash of vanilla to both the cake and icing. I only used these substitutions out of necessity, and other than using self rising flour, I don't think they changed the cake. Granted, you need to cut these slices a little smaller than usual (due to sweetness), but it was an outstanding cake. Lighter and fluffier than any boxed cake trash, and the fact this all gets prepped in a single skillet is amazing. No creaming and no mixing, means this is super fast. Embarrassingly, two of us ate the cake in only 3 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I have made this numerous times and not one time did I receive a complaint of anykind. If you don't like sweet then don't eat cake. if you can not taste the almond then something is wrong with your taste buds FIVE STARS HANDS DOWN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This is so delicious, so easy, and not to sweet! We couldn't wait to try it. Also can't wait to try chocolate version. Too sweet? No! It's dessert! And yes, it's flat, it's sweet, just what is supposed to be. I did half the frosting without nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wanda Odum Turner
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This recipe produced a wonderful cake. My family is small so I halved the recipe and used an 8x8 glass pan. I made a quick cream cheese icing and sprinkled walnuts over the top. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Odum Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
The cake is very moist and has a great almond flavor. Next time I will add a little more milk or cream to the frosting; my family thought it was too sweet. Perhaps adding cream cheese as another reviewer mentioned would help the frosting not taste quite so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Since first discovering this recipe earlier this year, I have made this cake several times changing nothing except a little less icing.Because it is so sweet, a small slice is sufficient. Cake is very moist.Can't imagine it without the almond which makes the flavor pop. Pairs nicely with a scoop of vanilla ice cream for a simple but delicious dessert. (White on white is a statement in itself) Great also for a shower or Mother 's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Fantastic cake. I used cool whip cream cheese prepackaged frosting (I typically hate and refuse to use canned frosting) on the cooled cake for the sake of time. It was SO delicious. Wonderful cake base recipe. My chocolate loving daughter thought this was better than the chocolate version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I made this recipe up last week and while it didn't come out white, it really got rave reviews. I doubled the recipe for a larger cookie sheet. I cut the cake in half to make a layer cake and used raspberry jam for the filling. Other than that, followed the recipe exactly. I'll make this cake again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I made this for my Husbands birthday. His mom always makes a chocolate version for everyone's birthday, and I thought I would try something new. He doesn't like too much chocolate, whereas I am a chocolate nut! In that aspect it turned out amazing and delicious! The only aspect that I didn't expect was my family, who critiqued it as having a "weird" taste. After reviewing some of the other comments, I realized my family apparently does not like almond extract, being used to only vanilla. Oddly, I won't change it the next time I make it, because we loved the subtle difference. They just won't get any=P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Trahan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States