White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Will definitely add to my recipe box. This is a quick and easy sheet cake for large gatherings. Decreased sugar in cake from 2 to 1-1/2 cups and added crushed pineapple. Great taste. Made a cream cheese frosting; 1 pkg cream cheese, 4 cups powered sugar, 1 tbsp. butter and 1/2 tsp almond extract. Added some pineapple juice to the frosting. I spread on the warm cake. I used all of the frosting and pretty sweet (too much frosting). Next time I will use a very thin layer of frosting on the cake. I also think this would be good without any frosting. Will make again and experiment with different options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I took this cake to a potluck at our lodge and it was a big hit. I've made the Texas Chocolate Sheet Cake and love it, but never knew there was a white version. It is a very sweet cake, and that's how it's supposed to be. I will definitely keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
I thought it wasn't very good right after I made it, but it's amazing the next day. It's very easy to make. I used vanilla instead of almond. I also used a chocolate, sour cream and butter frosting instead of the one here. Anyways, super delicious - moist, just melts in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Been making this for a few years now and my whole family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I made this recipe (despite the bad reviews), but found that I was out of a few things, so I made some minor substitutions. I didn't have sour cream, so I used buttermilk. I didnt have all purpose flour, so I used self rising, and left out the salt and baking soda. I also didnt have milk for the icing, so I used half heavy cream/half water. I also did not use the nuts, and chose to add a dash of vanilla to both the cake and icing. I only used these substitutions out of necessity, and other than using self rising flour, I don't think they changed the cake. Granted, you need to cut these slices a little smaller than usual (due to sweetness), but it was an outstanding cake. Lighter and fluffier than any boxed cake trash, and the fact this all gets prepped in a single skillet is amazing. No creaming and no mixing, means this is super fast. Embarrassingly, two of us ate the cake in only 3 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I have made this numerous times and not one time did I receive a complaint of anykind. If you don't like sweet then don't eat cake. if you can not taste the almond then something is wrong with your taste buds FIVE STARS HANDS DOWN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This is so delicious, so easy, and not to sweet! We couldn't wait to try it. Also can't wait to try chocolate version. Too sweet? No! It's dessert! And yes, it's flat, it's sweet, just what is supposed to be. I did half the frosting without nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wanda Odum Turner
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This recipe produced a wonderful cake. My family is small so I halved the recipe and used an 8x8 glass pan. I made a quick cream cheese icing and sprinkled walnuts over the top. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Odum Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
The cake is very moist and has a great almond flavor. Next time I will add a little more milk or cream to the frosting; my family thought it was too sweet. Perhaps adding cream cheese as another reviewer mentioned would help the frosting not taste quite so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States