White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Most amazing cake ever!!! Even my family members who don't like sweets loved it!! Plus it's super easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is a much easier method for making a cake doing in a pot on the stove...let me tell you. You can change it up too--one way is with lemon glaze for icing and vanilla or lemon instead of almond extract in cake. I do cut the sugar for cake in half though because glaze so sweet. I like it better. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I made this yesterday for a July 4 party, because there was going to be a crowd there. Everyone loved it, and I loved that it was so easy to make. I took some other reviewers' suggestions and cut the sugar to 1-1/2 cups, used buttermilk instead of 1/2 c. of the water and used my own white frosting because I always have some in the freezer. Topped it with fresh red and blue berries and sprinkled on some red and blue sugar. Everyone agreed it was better this way, and the cake tasted more like a scratch cake. I've been wanting to make a white Texas Sheet Cake for a while now, and I loved this one, I will definitely be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGCHEF22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I made this according to directions for a party. I didn't care for it because I thought the almond extract was just too much. But a friend of mine loved it. So I guess like everything it's subject to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
the icing was to thick and would not spread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Loved this cake! It tasted like a giant sugar cookie. It was gone so fast I didn't get to take a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I never knew there was a White Texas Sheet Cake recipe around and I am so glad I found it. This cake is soooo good, moist and tender and I do like the almond flavoring that is used; I bet vanilla would be just as good. Love the ease in prep too. I used my own buttercream frosting recipe and then topped it with fresh strawberries when it was served - it was great! Many complements. Thanks Diane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oostburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
The family was very happy with this, it is a moist and easy cake...a happy change up from chocolate sheet cake and perfect for a casual get together. I did back off the sugar 1/2 cup and also the almond extract for the children's sake. Frosted with chocolate. The husband said "Why have we been eating other cakes than this one?". Thank you for a lovely white Texas sheet cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Craig, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I didn't have the size pan it needed so I used a 9x13 and just baked it for 10 extra minutes came out fine...my problem is the frosting...made it exactly like it said and it came out like silly putty, I'm imagining this is what fondant is like, I had to Mold it onto my cake I could literally pick it up in my hands and shape it like putty...will not be using that frosting recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Made this the other day on the advice of friend, we omitted the water and used buttermilk instead. Wow, it was great. I accidentally used to much almond extract in the frosting. recommend measuring and not dumping. anxious to find the chocolate version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States