White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This cake is great! And I must say, the frosting makes it. Don't skip it, people. ;) For the reviewer who had dry frosting, you might have boiled it too long. It's supposed to come just to a boil, and then remove it from the heat and quickly stir in everything else. I had my powdered sugar ready to go. It does set up very quickly once you put it on the cake. It set up almost too fast for me, but I might have let my cake cool too much. I LOVE the almond flavor and I absolutely LOVE the frosting. It reminds me of the frosting on some petit-fours I got in Germany. My mom makes this recipe all the time and today was my first time making it. Super easy and fast, and very satisfying. Everyone loved it. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Quick and easy. I liked that it could all be made in 1 pan. I enjoyed the almond taste, but I think I'd put less frosting on next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Outstanding!! A favorite all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K. Hay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I made this cake for my husband's birthday. I subbed vanilla for the almond extract, and frosted the cake with chocolate butter cream (white cake with chocolate frosting is his favorite). It was so delicious and so easy to make! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This recipe is so easy, so good, and so moist! Even better the next day. I usually skip the icing because we love it without and it's a little too sweet for us with the icing. If you can cut the sweetness a tad the icing is great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I used this to make a layer cake using round cake pans and it worked perfectly. I subbed vanilla for the almond extract in both the cake and frosting and used Lemon Curd (from this site) between the layers. I halved the frosting recipe so that I would have just enough to spread on the top of the cake and then sprinkled with slivered almonds (instead of walnuts). It was beautiful, dense, moist, and delicious! I will definitely use this as a standard white cake recipe in the future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I needed something to make into a flag cake, and also something that didn't list boxed cake mix as an ingredient! I had to sub vanilla yogurt for sour cream. This is a very tasty cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This cake is delicious! I used buttermilk instead of sour cream but all was still well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I just made this recipe for a friend. Her sister had made it years ago and we couldn't stop sneaking little slices the whole day we visited. Now I have a copy...hooray! Making it brought back the memory and it was even better this time around. YUM! I only changed a couple of things. I have a darker pan (Wilton) so I decreased the temp by 25 degrees and it baked in 18min. I also made the frosting while the cake was baking and put it on immediately out of the oven. My mom has made the chocolate version for years and that's how it's made. So good! BE WARNED... this is NOT a traditional sheet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Sammamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I now have to make this recipe for every birthday in my family. It's super easy and tastes a hundred times better than regular cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States