White Texas Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
this was the very best birthday cake i have ever had...it was wonderfully almond-y, and my mother made it to perfection. will be the ONLY birthday cake i request!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Definitely easy to make. Taste is very good, and it is better the longer it sits. I did not make the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This was incredible. I followed the recipe almost exactly. The only differences were that I added 1 tsp of almond extract to the frosting, and also mixed in toasted almonds and coconut rather than pecans. This is such a wonderful, moist cake--incredible. I will definitely be making this again and again. Kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This cake was wonderful. I used some left over raspberry cream cheese frosting on it and it was to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I give this recipe 5 stars. I used it to make a peach upside cake and it was very good. I only used 1 cup of sugar as 2 cups were too much for us. I still give it 5 stars for ease and simplicity. It was actually just as easy as a cake mix. It was nice that I keep all of the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I had buttermilk in the fridge and used it in the frosting instead of just plain milk and I think it provided a more homemade flavor. I also always double the frosting. If you're gonna be bad, be really bad! Also, why not top it with toasted slivered almonds to go with the almond extract in the cake and frosting? The walnuts seemed a little out of place and the almonds fit right in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Not as great as some reviewers stated. A bit heavy and didn't have great flavour. I won't make this again. The best cake on this site is the Kentucky Butter Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Made this cake for a picnic. It was a big hit! Can't wait to think of an excuse to make it again. The almond flavor is incredibly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Very Good, this is a nice change from white/chocolate cake and a good variation of the chocolate sheet cake. The frosting will become to dry with 4 1/2 cups of sugar you need to reduce the sugar to 3 1/4 cups or add more milk to have a creamy consitancy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
it was a good cake. i made half a recipe. the frosting was great. although i think that i like the traditional chocolate sheet cake better. this was a good change in flavor. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States